Timeline for American Independence

  • First Continental Congress

    First Continental Congress
    The First Continental Congress meets in Philadelphia with every colony, except Georgia, sending delegates. Among the delegates are Patrick Henry, George Washington, Sam Adams, and John Hancock.
  • Second Continental Congress

    Second Continental Congress
    The Second Continental Congress started on May 10, 1775. The delegates of the 13 colonies gathered in Philadelphia to discuss their next steps.
  • Olive Branch Petition

    Olive Branch Petition
    Congress sends a petition to the king asking him to reach an agreement with the Americans. When it reaches him in August, the king refuses to read the petition.
  • Prohibitory Act

    Prohibitory Act
    Parliament orders a trade embargo and tells the British navy to seize any ships trading with the colonies.
  • Declaration of Independence

    Declaration of Independence
    The Declaration of Independence is the founding document of American history. It has been included among one of the most important documents ever to be written in the history of the United States of America. We refer to it still today as we recall the Bill of Rights and the Constitution.