Colonial tavern

Colonial Timeline

  • Jamestown

    104 men and boys arrived in north america to start a settlement. On may 13th they picked Jamestown, Virginia for their settlement. Which was named after their king, James I.
  • Virginia House Of Burgesses

    Virginia House Of Burgesses
    After his arrival in Jamestown in 1619, Governor George Yeardley immediately gave notice that the Virginia colony would establish a legislative assembly. This assembly, the House of Burgesses, first met on July 30, 1619.
  • Plymouth Rock

    Plymouth Rock
    Plymouth Rock is the traditional site of disembarkation of William Bradford and the Mayflower Pilgrims who founded Plymouth Colony in 1620.
  • Mayflower Compact

    Mayflower Compact
    The Mayflower Compact, signed by 41 English colonists on the ship Mayflower on November 11, 1620, was the first written framework of government established in what is now the United States.
  • Fundamental Orders Of Connecticut

    Fundamental Orders Of Connecticut
    Free men from three Connecticut towns – Hartford, Windsor and Wethersfield – signed The Fundamental Orders on Jan. 14, 1638 Some view it as the first written constitution, others as the first declaration of independence.
  • Toleration Act

    Toleration Act
    The Maryland Toleration Act, also known as the Act Concerning Religion, was a law mandating religious tolerance for Trinitarian Christians. It was passed on April 21, 1649, by the assembly of the Maryland colony, in St. Mary's City.
  • Bacon's Rebellion

    Bacon's Rebellion
    July 30, 1676 - On about this day, Nathaniel Bacon issues the first of a series of declarations of grievance and complaint against Governor Sir William Berkeley, together with justifications of his rebellious actions, which he signs as "General, by the consent of the people."
  • Glorious Revolution

    Glorious Revolution
    Fear of Catholic tyranny. The Glorious Revolution of 1688-1689 replaced the reigning king, James II, with the joint monarchy of his protestant daughter Mary and her Dutch husband, William of Orange.
  • English Bill Of Rights

    English Bill Of Rights
    The English Bill of Rights is an act that the Parliament of England passed on December 16, 1689. The Bill creates separation of powers, limits the powers of the king and queen, enhances the democratic election and bolsters freedom of speech.
  • Salem Witch Trials

    Salem Witch Trials
    The Salem witch trials occurred in colonial Massachusetts between 1692 and 1693. More than 200 people were accused of practicing witchcraft—the Devil's magic—and 20 were executed. Eventually, the colony admitted the trials were a mistake and compensated the families of those convicted.
  • John Peter Zenger

    John Peter Zenger
    His libel trial and eventual acquittal in 1735 set a precedent for establishing freedom of the press in America.
  • French And Indian War

    French And Indian War
    A series of military engagements between Britain and France in North America between 1754 and 1763.
  • Albany Plan Of Union

    Albany Plan Of Union
    The Albany Plan of Union was a plan to create a unified government for the Thirteen Colonies, suggested by Benjamin Franklin.
  • Proclamation of 1763

    Proclamation of 1763
    The Royal Proclamation of 1763 was issued October 7, 1763, by King George III following Great Britain's acquisition of French territory in North America after the end of the French and Indian War/Seven Years' War, which forbade all settlement past a line drawn along the Appalachian Mountains.
  • Stamp Act

    Stamp Act
    An act of the British Parliament in 1765 that exacted revenue from the American colonies by imposing a stamp duty on newspapers and legal and commercial documents.
  • Quartering Act

    Quartering Act
    The Quartering Acts were two British Laws, passed by the Parliament of Great Britain 1765 and 1774, that were designed to force local colonial governments to provide provisions and housing to British soldiers stationed in the 13 Colonies of America.
  • Declaratory Act

    Declaratory Act
    It was an Act of the Parliament of Great Britain, which accompanied the repeal of the Stamp Act 1765 and the changing and lessening of the Sugar Act.
  • Boston Massacre

    Boston Massacre
    a riot in Boston, March 5, 1770, arising from the resentment of Boston colonists toward British troops quartered in the city, in which the troops fired on the mob and killed several persons.
  • Tea Act

    Tea Act
    Tea Act of 1773 was an Act of the Parliament of Great Britain. The principal objective was to reduce the massive amount of tea held by the financially troubled British East India Company in its London warehouses and to help the struggling company survive.
  • Boston Tea Party

    Boston Tea Party
    A raid on three British ships in Boston Harbor (December 16, 1773) in which Boston colonists, disguised as Indians, threw the contents of several hundred chests of tea into the harbor as a protest against British taxes on tea and against the monopoly granted the East India Company.
  • 1st Continental Congress

    1st Continental Congress
    The First Continental Congress was a meeting of delegates from twelve of the Thirteen Colonies who met from September 5 to October 26, 1774 at Carpenters' Hall in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania early in the American Revolution.
  • 2nd Continental Congress

    2nd Continental Congress
    The Second Continental Congress was a convention of delegates from the Thirteen Colonies that started meeting in the spring of 1775 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It succeeded the First Continental Congress, which met in Philadelphia between September 5, 1774 and October 26, 1774.
  • Declaration Of Independence

    Declaration Of Independence
    The Declaration of Independence is defined as the formal statement written by Thomas Jefferson declaring the freedom of the thirteen American colonies from Great Britain. An example of the Declaration of Independence was the document adopted at the Second Continental Congress on July 4th, 1776.
  • Treaty of Paris

    Treaty of Paris
    The Treaty of Paris, signed in Paris by representatives of King George III of Great Britain and representatives of the United States of America on September 3, 1783, ended the American Revolutionary War.