The hunger games plot timeline

By tico69
  • AD 1


    The setting takes place in an unspecified future time, in the dystopian, post-apocalyptic nation of Panem, located in North America. The country consists of a wealthy Capitol city, located in the Rocky Mountains, surrounded by twelve poorer districts ruled by the Capitol.
  • 2

    Rising Action

    After volunteering to take her sister's place in the Hunger Games, Katniss has to manage others' perceptions of her to gain the best strategic advantage possible, then learn to survive inside the arena.
  • 3


    the climax occurs when Katniss learns that only one tribute can be declared the winner. This means that either Peeta or Katniss must die. Katniss announces that she and Peeta will eat the poisonous berries and commit suicide. They go so far as to put the berries in their mouths.
  • 4

    Falling Action

    The Falling Action is Katniss and Peeta is on the only two tributes left. They announced before saying that there can be two victors, but only if they originate from the same district. Now that there the only two left they make another announcement. The Capitol said there can only be one victor now. Katniss and Peeta almost eat poisoned berries, but the Capitol tells them not to. Katniss and Peeta are now the victors of The 74th Annual Hunger Games.
  • 5


    Katniss and Peeta are restored to health. Katniss continues to battle with her feelings over Peeta vs Gale. She decides to embrace the illusion of love that she's developed when she learns from Haymitch that the capitol is angry with what they did with the berries.