Presidents of era (1860-1928) Stephen Boylan

  • Period: to

    Presidents of era (1860-1928) Stephen Boylan

  • Period: to


  • Abraham Lincoln (1861-1865)

    Abraham Lincoln (1861-1865)
    While President Lincoln was in office the civil war was proclaimed to save and protect the union. As president he made a proclaimation known as the, Emancipation Proclaimation, which freed the slaves in the states in rebellion to help the Union. This allowed the freed African Americans to fight in war which later following the battle of Gettysburg led to the Gettysburg address, remebering the men white and black that fought in the battle for the Union.
  • Andrew Johnson (1865-1869)

    Andrew Johnson (1865-1869)
    Came into office with-out inauguration after the assination of president Abraham Lincoln. was the first president to be imoeached. Johnson vetoed many bills such as the Civil Right Act, vetoed a bill that called for the exspansion of the Freedman's Bureau.
  • Ulysses S. Grant

    Ulysses S. Grant
    Signed the Amnesty Act of 1872, bills promoting black voting rights, the Civil Rights Act of 1875, and the Treaty of Washington. President Grant also passed the Inflation Bill on April 14, 1847. As president he included the enforcement of Civil Rights for African Americans.
  • Rutherford B. Hayes (1877-1881)

    Rutherford B. Hayes (1877-1881)
    President Hayes Issued an Executive order that Forbade Federal office holders from taking part in party politics and protected them from receiving party contributions.
    He signed the Domestic Act, the Bill Requirement for Black rights.
    Passed a Bill that allowed female attorneys to argue cases before the Supreme Court of the United States.
  • James A. Garfield(1881)

    James A. Garfield(1881)
    Garfield was assinated by an anger attorny on July 2, 1881 at a trian station. Garfield attempted to reestablish the independence of the presidency. He started the work of Pendleton Civil Service Reform Act.
  • Chester Arthur (1881-1885)

    Chester Arthur (1881-1885)
    He signed the Tariff Act of 1883 and the Edmunds Act that banned Bigamists and Polygamists from voting and holding office. His Administration Enacted the first General Federal Immigration law. The Pendleton Act was passed while Arthur was in office.
  • Grover Cleveland( 1885-1889)

    Grover Cleveland( 1885-1889)
    Cleveland signed an Act creating the Interstate Commerce Commission. He angered railroad investors by ordering an investigation of western lands they held by Government. Grant passed a Bill in 1886 that would require the government to coin unlimited amounts of silver which then was inflating the then-deflating currency.
  • Benjamin Harrison (1889- 1893)

    Benjamin Harrison (1889- 1893)
    Harrison passed the Sherman Antitrust Acts, the Dependent and Disability Pensions Act, the Sherman Silver Purchase Act. while in office the tariff was removed from imported raw sugar, and sugar growers in the United States.
  • Grover Cleveland(1893-1897) 2nd term

    Grover Cleveland(1893-1897) 2nd term
    He signed the Sherman Silver Purchase Act. And he aslo allowed McKinley Tariff to become law without his signature. Was reelected after skipping a term.
  • William McKinley (1897-1901)

    William McKinley (1897-1901)
    On June 16, 1897, William McKinley signed annexing the Republic of Hawaii to the United States. In Civil Service administration, McKinley reformed the system to make it more flexible in critical areas. during his term an important act during McKinley's term was the Gold Standard Act where by the U.S. was officially placed on the gold standard. McKinley was assinated on September 14, 1901.
  • Theodore Rosevelt (1901-1909)

    Theodore Rosevelt (1901-1909)
    Teddy issued a collary to the Monroe Doctrine. Roosevelt made the White House the center of news every day, providing interviews and photo opportunities. began the constution of the Panama Canal.
  • William Howard Taft (1909-1913)

    William Howard Taft (1909-1913)
    Trust-busting and Civil service reform were some laws he enforced. He also strengthed the Interstate Commerce Act. he sought to further the economic development of undeveloped nations in Latin America and Asia through the method he termed "Dollar Diplomacy."
  • Woodrow Wilson (1913-1921)

    Woodrow Wilson (1913-1921)
    Took Americans into WWI to make the world safe for Democracy. He made the Passage Federal Reserve Act in late 1913. Wilson also signed the adamson Act.
  • Warren G. Harding (1921-1923)

    Warren G. Harding (1921-1923)
    Harding favored the anti-lynching. He signed a series of bills and amendments passed by Congress into laws that regulated the farm industry.he died of heart-attack august 2, 1923.
  • Calvin Coolidge (1923-1929)

    Calvin Coolidge (1923-1929)
    while in office Congress passed the Revenue Act of 1924, which reduced Income Tax rates and eliminated all Income Taxation for some Two million people.Coolidge signed the Radio Act of 1927, which assigned regulation of Radio to the newly created Federal Radio Commission.During Coolidge's presidency the United States experienced the period of rapid economic growth known as the "Roaring Twenties."