1351015421462 cached

Presidents of Era (1860-1928)

  • Abraham Lincoln

    Abraham Lincoln
    Abraham Lincoln wrote the Emancipation Proclamation which two years after he wrote it slavery was outlawed. Due to Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation the thirteenth amendment was easy to ratify. Lincoln also preserved the Union during the Civil War.
  • Andrew Johnson

    Andrew Johnson
    President Johnson signed the Civil Rights Bill. He then created new federal civil rights. In 1867 Johnson purchased Alaska from the Russian Empire.
  • Ulysses Grant

    Ulysses Grant
    Ulysses Grant included the Enforcement of Civil Rights for African Americans in the Reconstruction states. Grant signed the Civil Rights Act of 1875. Ulysses also signed the Treaty of Washington for settling the Alabama Claims dispute between Britain and the United States by International Arbitration.
  • Rutherford Hayes

    Rutherford Hayes
    Hayes signed both the Domestic Act and the BIll Requirement for Black rights. He then passed the bill that allowed female attorneys to argue cases before the Supreme Court of the United States. Rutherford Hayes then issued an executive order that forbade federal office holders from taking part in party politics and protected them from receiving party contributions
  • Chester Arthur

    Chester Arthur
    Arthur signed the Tariff Act of 1883. His Administration Enacted the first General Federal Immigration law. He signed the Edmunds Act that banned Bigamists and Polygamists from voting and holding office.
  • Benjamin Harrison

    Benjamin Harrison
    Harrison removed the tariff from imported raw sugar, and sugar growers in the United States. Harrison passed the Sherman Silver Purchase Act. He also passed the Sherman Antitrust Act.
  • William McKinley

    William McKinley
    On June 16, 1897, William McKinley signed annexing the Republic of Hawaii to the United States. In Civil Service administration, McKinley reformed the system to make it more flexible in critical areas. An important act during McKinley's time was the Gold Standard Act where by the U.S. was officially placed on the gold standard.
  • William Taft

    William Taft
    Taft sought to further the economic development of undeveloped nations in Latin America and Asia through the method he termed "Dollar Diplomacy." William Taft also strengthened the Interstate Commerce Commission. Taft was also part of the Civil Service reform.
  • Woodrow Wilson

    Woodrow Wilson
    Wilson took America into World War I as a war to make "the world safe for democracy". President Wilson signed the Adamson Act. He passed Federal Reserve Act in late 1913.
  • Calvin Coolidge

    Calvin Coolidge
    On June 2, 1924, Coolidge signed the Indian Citizenship Act, which granted full U.S. citizenship to all American Indians, while permitting them to retain tribal land and cultural rights. In 1924 Congress passed the Revenue Act of 1924, which reduced Income Tax rates and eliminated all Income Taxation for some Two million people. Coolidge signed the Radio Act of 1927, which assigned regulation of Radio to the newly created Federal Radio Commission.