Smiling presidents

Presidents Between 1860-1928

  • President 16 - Abraham Lincoln

    President 16 - Abraham Lincoln
    Abraham Lincoln's most famous accomplishments can be linked to the end of America's Civil War. Lincoln pushed for the 13th Amendment, which officially abolished slavery. He also signed a bill to create the first transcontinental railroad.
  • President 17 - Andrew Johnson

    President 17 - Andrew Johnson
    He wanted the south to choose things and not be forced by the north but no one cared so they did it anyway. He wasn't a fan of reconstruction, oh and he bought Alaska. He was eventually impeached.
  • President 18 - Ulysses S. Grant

    President 18 - Ulysses S. Grant
    Grant pushed the 15th amendment through. This gave Americans the right to vote regardless of race, color, of precious condition of servitutde. In his second term, he continued to back southern Reconstruction with force if necessary.
  • President 19 - Rutherford B. Hayes

    President 19 - Rutherford B. Hayes
    Shortly after Hayes's inauguration, his administration came through with the Compromise of 1877. This, which was created to please southerners upset with Reconstruction, officially demilitarized the south. Also, in 1880 his Secretary of State restricted Chinese immigration.
  • President 20 - James Garfield

    President 20 - James Garfield
    Garfield's six month term revolved around petty issues of patronage. It was soon discovered that the Republican party was involved in the Star Route Scandel. He was shot July 2, 1882 and died that September of blood poisoning.
  • President 21 - Chester Arthur

    President 21 - Chester Arthur
    Chester Arthur vetoed a law which wanted to completely restrict Chinese immigration. However, because of anti-Chinese feelings in the US, he did end up signing the Chinese Exclusion Act. This bill, renewed two more times, wound up completely halting Chinese immigration until its repeal in 1943.
  • President 22 - Grover Cleveland

    President 22 - Grover Cleveland
    Grover Cleveland's first term saw the birth of the Presidential Succesion Act in 1886. It also saw the Interstate Commerce Act, which regulated railroad lines. Finally, it saw the creation of the Dawes Severality Act - this granted citizenship to Native Americans if they were willing to renounce their tribal affiliation.
  • President 23 - Benjamin Harrison

    President 23 - Benjamin Harrison
    Harrison's Dependent and Disability Pensions Act provided veterans and their children with pensions if a nonmilitary related cause made them disabled. He also had the distinction of passing the first law attempting to get rid of monopolies, the Sherman Anti-trust Act. Harroson imposed a 48% tariff on imported goods - a widely unpopular decision.
  • President 24 - Grover Cleveland

    President 24 - Grover Cleveland
    Cleveland's second term took place during the Panic of 1893 - a small economic depression which resulted in riots and business failure. He pleaded with Congress to overturn the Sherman Silver Purchase Act. He also refused to annex Hawaii, believing it to be "wrong".
  • President 25 - William McKinley

    President 25 - William McKinley
    McKinley annexed Hawaii, despite the fact that Cleveland had refused to in his term. On February 15, 1898, the Maine Incident occured - a US battleship stationed near Cuba sank of mysterious causes. Outrage over this sparked the Spanish-American War.