From Declaration to Constitution

  • First Continental Congress

    First Continental Congress
    The First Continental Congress met in Philadelphia on September 5th, 1774. It included representatives from 12 of the 13 colonies (only Georgia was not present). They created a list of demands for the British King George III, including a repeal of the Intolerable Acts and granting the power of taxation to the colonies.
  • Olive Branch Petition

    Olive Branch Petition
    The Second Continental Congress sends King George III a letter pledging loyalty to Great Britain if the king would agree to their previous demands. King George III refused to read the letter. On August 23 the king declared the colonies to be in rebellion, and the American Revolution officially began.
  • Declaration of Independence

    Declaration of Independence
    Congress adopts the Declaration of Independence. The 13 American colonies declared their independence from Great Britain, and created a new nation. The declaration is based on the Englightenment ideas of natural rights, and that governments derive their power from the people.
  • Treaty of Paris

    Treaty of Paris
    Signed by the United States and Great Britain in Paris, it brought the American Revolution to an end. The United States became an independent nation.