2nd Congress (March 4, 1791 - March 3, 1793)

  • Vermont Enters The Union

    Vermont Enters The Union
    State in the New England region of the northeastern United States of America.Originally inhabited by two major Native American tribes (the Algonquian-speaking Abenaki and the Iroquois), much of the territory that is now Vermont was claimed by France in the early colonial period. France ceded the territory to the Kingdom of Great Britain after being defeated in 1763 in the Seven Years' War (also called the French and Indian War)
  • Senate Graph

    Senate Graph
  • Boundary Stones

    Boundary Stones
    The Boundary Markers of the Original District of Columbia are the 40 milestones that mark the four lines forming the boundaries between the states of Maryland and Virginia and the square of 100 square miles
  • Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth

    Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth
    The Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth (or Union, since 1791 the Commonwealth of Poland) was a dualistic state of Poland and Lithuania ruled by a common monarch. It was the largest and one of the most populous countries of 16th- and 17th‑century Europe with some 400,000 square miles (1,000,000 km2) and a multi-ethnic population of 11 million at its peak in the early 17th century.
  • Start of The First Session

  • House Of Represenative

    House Of Represenative
  • The Post Office Department

    The Post Office Department
    The Postal Service Act signed by President George Washington on February 20, 1792, established the Department. Postmaster General John McLean was the first to call it the Post Office Department rather than just the "Post Office."
  • United States Mint

    United States Mint
    The Mint was created by Congress with the Coinage Act of 1792, and placed within the Department of State. Per the terms of the Coinage Act, the first Mint building was in Philadelphia, then the capital of the United States; it was the first building of the Republic raised under the Constitution. Today, the Mint's headquarters is in Washington, D.C. It operates mint facilities in Philadelphia, Denver, San Francisco, and West Point and a bullion depository at Fort Knox.
  • George Washigton Veto

    George Washigton Veto
    President George Washington used the veto for the first time, vetoing a bill designed to apportion representatives among U.S. states.
  • State Militias

    State Militias
    The first Act, passed May 2, 1792, provided for the authority of the President to call out the militias of the several states, "whenever the United States shall be invaded, or be in imminent danger of invasion from any foreign nation or Indian tribe."The law also authorized the President to call the militias into Federal service "whenever the laws of the United States shall be opposed or the execution thereof obstructed, in any state, by combinations too powerful to be suppressed by the ordi
  • End of The First Session

  • Second Militia Act

    Second Militia Act
    The second Act, passed May 8, 1792, provided for the organization of the state militias. It conscripted every "free able-bodied white male citizen" between the ages of 18 and 45 into a local militia company overseen by the state. Militia members were to arm themselves with a musket, bayonet and belt, two spare flints, a cartridge box with 24 bullets, and a knapsack. Men owning rifles were required to provide a powder horn, 1/4 pound of gun powder, 20 rifle balls, a shooting pouch, and a knapsack
  • Foundation of Washington D.C

    Foundation of Washington D.C
    Foundation of Washington, D.C.: The cornerstone of the United States Executive Mansion, now known as the White House, was laid.
  • Start of The Second Session

  • Fugitive Slave Act

    Fugitive Slave Act
    The Fugitive Slave Clause of the U.S. Constitution (Article 4, Section 2, Clause 3 Note: Superseded by the Thirteenth Amendment) guaranteed the right of a slaveholder to recover an escaped slave. The Fugitive Slave Act of 1793 created the legal mechanism by which that could be accomplished.
  • End of Second Session

  • Judiciary Act

    Judiciary Act
    The Judiciary Act of 1789 had created, in addition to the Supreme Court authorised by the Constitution, two lower levels of courts. Federal district courts, each with a district judge, composed the lowest level. Their district boundaries generally matched state lines. Every federal district also fell within the circuit of one of the three second-level courts, the circuit courts. Two Supreme Court justices and one district judge composed each circuit court bench; they traveled to each district to