Timeline of Florida Standards

  • Elementary and Secondary Education Act - ESEA

    This Act was passed in 1965 as part of the "War on Poverty." ESEA emphasized equal access in education and established high standards and accountability. The law authorizes federally funded education programs that are administered by the states.
  • Sunshine State Standards - SSS

    Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) is a required state-wide accountability system which requires each state to ensure that all schools and districts make AYP.
  • No Child Left Behind - NCLB

    In 2002, Congress amended ESEA and reauthorized it as the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB).
  • Next Generation Sunshine State Standards - NGSSS

    Presently, the standards adopted in 2007, now called the Next Generation Sunshine State Standards, are the standards being taught in the classroom and assessed on the FCAT 2.0 Assessment.
  • Common Core State Standards - CCSS

    The Common Core State Standards in English/Language Arts and Math were sdopted by the Florida State Board of Education on July 27, 2010. These standards are to be fully implemented with the beginning of the 2013-2014 school year.