Maricopa District History

  • Period: to

    Arizona Community College History

  • St. Joseph Stake Academy (EAC)

    Eastern Arizona College HistoryEastern Arizona College opened as St. Joseph Stake Academy with 17 students.
  • Phoenix Junior College

    Phoenix Junior College, established by the Phoenix Union High School District, opened with 18 students.
  • Phoenix College

    Phoenix Junior College became Phoenix College.
  • Arizona Junior College Law

    The Arizona Junior College Law, signed by Governor Paul Fannin, became effective.
  • Maricopa District established

    The Maricopa Junior College District, later known as Maricopa County Community College District, was formed. Phoenix College became the district's first institution.
  • Arizona Western College

    Arizona Western College, in Yuma, opened.
  • President Hannelly

    Dr. Robert J. Hannelly became the first District President.
  • Bond Failed

    The District's first bond initiative for $9,750,000 failed.
  • Cochise College

    Cochise College, in Douglas, opened.
  • MCC and GCC

    Mesa Community College and Glendale Community College opened.
  • Central Arizona College

    Central Arizona College, in Coolidge, opened.
  • President Prince

    Dr. John Prince became District President.
  • Pima Community College

    Pima Community College, in Tucson, opened.
  • Maricopa Technical Center

    The Maricopa Technical Center opened.
  • Bond Initiative

    A bond initiative of $9,980,000 was successful.
  • Yavapai College

    Yavapai College, in Prescott, opened.
  • Adjunct Faculty

    The concept of adjunct faculty first introduced.
  • SCC (MCC extension)

    SCC opens as an extension of MCC.
  • Mohave Community College

    Mohave Community College, in Northwest Arizona, opened.
  • Northland Pioneer College

    Northland Pioneer College (Navajo District) opened in the White Mountain area.
  • SCC

    Scottsdale Community College becomes independently accredited.
  • Chancellor Elsner

    Dr. Paul Elsner became MCCCD Chancellor.
  • Rio Salado

    Rio Salado opened.
  • Faculty Members Picket

    Faculty members picket in response to personnel restructuring.
  • Tuition Approved

    Tuition of $3 per credit hour approved by the Governing Board.
  • SMCC

    South Mountain Community College opened.
  • Capital Bond

    A $75 million capital improvement bond was passed.
  • PV and CG Ed Centers

    Paradise Valley Education Center opened as an extension of SCC and the Chandler-Gilbert Education Center opened as an extension of MCC.
  • GWCC

    The Maricopa Technical Center changed its name to Gateway Community College.
  • EM Ed Center

    The Estrella Mountain Education Center founded as an extension of GCC.
  • PVCC

    Paradise Valley Community College became independently accredited.
  • Coconino County Community College

    Coconino County Community College, in Flagstaff, opened.
  • CGCC

    Chandler-Gilbert Community College became independently accredited.
  • Capital Bond

    A $386 million capital improvement bond was passed.
  • EMCC

    Estrella Mountain Community College became independently accredited.
  • Chancellor Gaskin

    Dr. Fred Gaskin became MCCCD Chancellor.
  • GCC North

    GCC's North campus opened.
  • Chancellor Glasper

    Dr. Rufus Glaspar became MCCCD Chancellor.
  • Capital Bond

    A $951 million capital improvement bond was passed by voters.
  • Bond Iniative

    A $4,800,000 bond initative passed.
  • Bond Fails

    A bond election fails.