Early American Government

By vannah
  • Jun 1, 1215

    Magna Carta

    Magna Carta
    Challenged the monarch's authority and forced the king to proclaim certain liberties.
  • Jamestown Settled

    Jamestown Settled
    America's first permanent English colony.
  • Mayflower Compact Written

    Mayflower Compact Written
    First governing document of Plymouth Colony, written by the colonists.
  • Petition of Right

    Petition of Right
    English constitutional document that states liberties that the king is prohibited from infringing.
  • English Bill of Rights

    English Bill of Rights
    Restatement of the Declaration of Right that limits the powers of sovereign, sets out the rights of Parliament and rules of freedom of speech in Parliament, requirement for elections in Parliament, and the right to petition the monarch without fear of retribution.
  • Albany Plan of Union

    Albany Plan of Union
    Benjamin Franklin's plan of forming a union of the colonies during the French and Indian War.
  • Stamp Act

    Stamp Act
    Direct tax on the North American colonies imposed by the Britsh Parliament, required printing to be on stamped paper produced in London having an embossed revenue stamp.
  • Boston Massacre

    Boston Massacre
    While protecting crown-appointed colonial officials, British redcoats fired into the crown without order and killed five civilians.
  • Boston Tea Party

    Boston Tea Party
    Colonists in Boston took a direct action against the British government by dumping 3 shiploads of tea into the Boston Harbor.
  • Intolerable Acts

    Intolerable Acts
    British Parliament passed this series of laws that limited the North American colonies.
  • Firt Continental Congress

    Firt Continental Congress
    Called in response to the passing of the Coercive Acts, delegates of twelve of the thirteen colonies met at this convention.
  • American Revolution Begins

    American Revolution Begins
    War between the Kingdom of Great Britian and the thirteen British colonies in North America.
  • Second Continental Congress

    Second Continental Congress
    Delegates of the thirteen colonies met to manage colonial war effort and move towards independence.
  • Declaration of Independence

    Declaration of Independence
    Declared the thirteen American colonies' independence from the British Empire.
  • Articles of Confederation

    Articles of Confederation
    Agreement amoung the thirteen colonies that served as America's first constitution and established the United States of America as a nation.
  • Shay's Rebellion

    Shay's Rebellion
    Armed uprising started over financial difficulty in central and western Massachusettes.
  • Constitution Convection

    Constitution Convection
    Delegates of the thirteen colonies met to address problems concerning government of the United States of America.
  • Connecticut Compromise

    Connecticut Compromise
    Agreement between large and small states that defined the part of the legislative structure and the representation each state would have under the U.S. Constitution.
  • Philadelphia Convention

    Philadelphia Convention
    Delegates of the thirteen colonies formed a new plan of government, which was drafted as the U.S. Constitution.