Chornological overview of english Literature

  • Period: 450 BCE to 1066

    Old English (Anglo-Saxon Period)

    Old English – the earliest form of the English language – was spoken and written in Anglo-Saxon Britain from c. 450 CE until c. 1150 (thus it continued to be used for some decades after the Norman Conquest of 1066).
  • Period: 1066 to 1500

    450–1066 Middle English Period

    'Middle English' – a period of roughly 300 years from around 1150 CE to around 1450 – is difficult to identify because it is a time of transition between two eras that each have stronger definition: Old English and Modern English.
  • Period: 1500 to

    The Renaissance

    The English Renaissance, an era of cultural revival and poetic evolution starting in the late 15th century and spilling into the revolutionary years of the 17th century, stands as an early summit of poetry achievement, the era in which the modern sense of English poetry begins.
  • Period: to

    The Neoclassical Period

    Neoclassical literature was written between 1660 and 1785. This time period is broken down into three parts: the Restoration period, the Augustan period, and the Age of Johnson.
  • Period: to

    The Romantic Period

    The Romantic Period began roughly around 1785 and lasted until 1832. The political and economic atmosphere at the time heavily influenced this period, with many writers finding inspiration from the French Revolution. There was a lot of social change during this period.
  • Period: to

    The Victorian Age

    Victorian literature refers to English literature during the reign of Queen Victoria (1832–1901). The 19th century is widely considered to be the Golden Age of English Literature, especially for British novels. It was in the Victorian era that the novel became the leading literary genre in English.
  • The Modern Period

    The Modern Period
    Modern period in the English literature begins with the 20th century and remain till 1965. The period saw an abrupt break away from the old ways of interacting with the world. In all the previous periods experimentation and individualism were highly discouraged but With the onset of the modern period both these things became virtues.
  • Period: to

    The Edwardian Period

    The Edwardian era or Edwardian period of British history spanned the reign of King Edward VII, 1901 to 1910, and is sometimes expanded to the start of the First World War. Edwardian writers like E.M. Forster, Joseph Conrad, and H.G. And writers such as Charles Dickens and Charlotte Bronte. Their epic Bildungsromans 'Oliver Twist' and 'Jane Eyre' probed at the disparity between social class, gender and family hierarchies.
  • The Postmodern Period

    The Postmodern Period
    Postmodern literature is a form of literature that is characterized by the use of metafiction, unreliable narration, self-reflexivity, intertextuality, and which often thematizes both historical and political issues.