CAP Gov timeline

Timeline created by haleywalker3
  • Feb 5, 1215

    Magna Carta

    Magna Carta
    also called Magna Carta Libertatum (Latin: "the Great Charter of the Liberties"), is a charter agreed by King John of England at Runnymede, near Windsor, on 15 June 1215.[a] First drafted by the Archbishop of Canterbury to make peace between the unpopular King and a group of rebel barons, it promised the protection of church rights, protection for the barons from illegal imprisonment, access to swift justice, and limitations on feudal payments to the Crown, to be implemented through a council of
  • Petition of Rights

    Petition of Rights
    The Petition of Right is a major English constitutional document that sets out specific liberties of the subject that the king is prohibited from infringing.
  • English Bill of Rights

    English Bill of Rights
    The English Bill of Rights is an English precursor of the Constitution, along with the Magna Carta and the Petition of Right. The English Bill of Rights limited the power of the English sovereign, and was written as an act of Parliament.
  • Albany Plan of Union

    Albany Plan of Union
    Was a plan to place the British North Americab colonies under a more centerlized government. This place however was never carried out.
  • Bsoton Massacre

    Bsoton Massacre
    Was the killing of five colonist by british regulars. It was the result of the heavy taxe imposed by the Townshed Acts
  • Boston Tea Party

    Boston Tea Party
    a group of colonists protest thirteen years of increasing British oppression, by attacking merchant ships in Boston Harbor. In retaliation, the British close the port, and inflict even harsher penalties.
  • First Continental Congress

    First Continental Congress
    was a meeting of delegates from twelve of the thirteen colonies that met on September 5 to October 26, 1774 at Carpenters' Hall in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, early in the American Revolution.
  • Second Continental Congress

    Second Continental Congress
    was a convention of delegates from the Thirteen Colonies that started meeting in the summer of 1775, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, soon after warfare in the American Revolutionary War had begun.
  • Declaration of Independence

    Declaration of Independence
    a statement adopted by the Continental Congress on July 4, 1776, which announced that the thirteen American colonies,[2] then at war with Great Britain, regarded themselves as thirteen newly independent sovereign states, and no longer a part of the British Empire. Instead they formed a new nation—the United States of America. John Adams was a leader in pushing for independence, which was unanimously approved on July 2. A committee of five had already drafted the formal declaration, to be ready w
  • Articles of Confederation

    Articles of Confederation
    Was the first actual constitution. It was signed by the original thirteen colonies.
  • Shay's Rebellion

    Shay's Rebellion
    was an armed uprising that took place in Massachusetts (mostly in and around Springfield) during 1786 and 1787, which some historians believe "fundamentally altered the course of United States' [sic] history."
  • The Aborted Annapolis Meeting

    The Aborted Annapolis Meeting
    The Annapolis Convention, formally titled as a Meeting of Commissioners to Remedy Defects of the Federal Government was a national political convention held September 11–14, 1786 at Mann's Tavern in Annapolis, Maryland, in which twelve delegates from five states–New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Delaware, and Virginia–gathered to discuss and develop a consensus about reversing the protectionist trade barriers that each state had erected. At the time, under the Articles of Confederation, each s
  • Virginia Plan

    Virginia Plan
    The Virginia Plan (also known as the Randolph Plan, after its sponsor, or the Large-State Plan) was a proposal by Virginia delegates for a bicameral legislative branch. The plan was drafted by James Madison while he waited for a quorum to assemble at the Constitutional Convention of 1787.
  • Philadelphia Convention

    Philadelphia Convention
    also known as the Philadelphia Convention,[1]:31 the Federal Convention,[1]:31 or the Grand Convention at Philadelphia) took place from May 25 to September 17, 1787, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, to address problems in governing the United States of America, which had been operating under the Articles of Confederation following independence from Great Britain.
  • New Jersey Plan

    New Jersey Plan
    The New Jersey Plan (also widely known as the Small State Plan or the Paterson Plan) was a proposal for the structure of the United States Government presented by William Paterson at the Constitutional Convention on June 15, 1787
  • Ratification

    The Federalists specified that the Constitution be ratified by special conventions in each of the states.
  • Connecticut Compromise

    Connecticut Compromise
    The Connecticut Compromise (also known as the Great Compromise of 1787 or Sherman's Compromise) was an agreement that large and small states reached during the Constitutional Convention of 1787 that in part defined the legislative structure and representation that each state would have under the United States ...
  • Slavery

    Slavery was legal in every state except Massachusetts
  • Bill of Rights

    Bill of Rights
    The Bill of Rights is the collective name for the first ten amendments to the United States Constitution.
  • Equal Rights Amendment

    Equal Rights Amendment
    The Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) was a proposed amendment to the United States Constitution designed to guarantee equal rights for women. The ERA was originally written by Alice Paul and Crystal Eastman. In 1923, it was introduced in the Congress for the first time.