Supreme Court Milestones

  • Creation of the Supreme Court

    Creation of the Supreme Court
    The Supreme Court was established by the Judiciary Act of 1798. Under it, there would be one chief jusice and five associate jutices and it would be the third branch of government. The number of justices was later changed to nine.
    -Many important cases were decided by the Supreme Court
    -We still have the Supreme Court
  • John Jay

    John Jay
    John Jay was the first Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. He was appointed by George Washington and served for almost six years.
    -He was the first Chief Justice
    -His decision to Chisolm v. Georgia led to the passing of the 11th Ammndment.
  • John Marshall

    John Marshall
    John Marshall was the fourth Chief Justice. He served from 1801 - 1835
    -His decision in Marbury v. Madison in 1803 established judicial review.

    -He decided Gibbons v. Ogden and the Dartmouth College Case
  • Marbury v. Madison

    Marbury v. Madison
    William Marbury was appointed Chief Justice by Thomas Jefferson. James Madison failed to give him the commission so Marbury tried to sue Madison in this Supreme Court case. Chief Justice John Marshall declared in 1801 that it is unconstitutional for the Supreme Court to make officials do their duties.
    -This case established the doctrine of judicial review.
  • Fletcher v. Peck

    Fletcher v. Peck
    This case was concerning the Yazoo land fraud. An act was passed by the Georgia legislature invalidating a contract was declared unconstitutional because it revoked rights stated in the contract. It was deided on March 16, 1810.
    -First time a state legislative act was declared uncostitutional
  • Dartmouth College v. Woodward

    Dartmouth College v. Woodward
    In 1816 the New Hampshire government tried to make Dartmouth a university. The legislature transferred the trustee appointents to the governor. The old trustees filed this lawsuit against Willam Woodward. Woodward took the side of the new trustees that had been appointed. The court decided on March 1, 1818, that Dartmouth's charter was like a contract between private parties that could not be interfered with.
    -The college was not turned into a civil insititution
  • McCollough v. Maryland

    McCollough v. Maryland
    Maryland imposed a tax on all banks that were not chartered by the state. Baltimore would not pay the taxes so Maryland filed suit in order to collect the tax. The tax, the court decided, on March 6, 1819, was unconstitutional.
    -It was a major case because it further investigated federal powers
  • Gibbons v. Ogden

    Gibbons v. Ogden
    Aaron Ogden had purchased an interest in the monopoly to operate steamboats. Thomas Gibbons then created a rival steamboat company and Ogden filed suit against him for it. Gibbons lost the case but then it was appealed to the Supreme Court and then he won. It was ruled that monopolies were unconstitutional. Decided March 2, 1824
    -Monopolies are still unconstitutional
  • Worcester v. Georgia

    Worcester v. Georgia
    Samuel Worcester was a missionary who went to Cherokee lands to translate the bible for them. The US government thought that he was helping the Cherokee's resistance movement so they arrested him. Chief Justice John Marshall decided, on March 3,1832, that the US government could not interfere with the Indians and their government.
  • Dred Scott v. Stanford

    Dred Scott v. Stanford
    Dred Scott was lived in Missouri as a slave. One day his master took him to Wisconsin which was a free territory. Scott claimed that since he was now living in a free territory, he was free and no longer a slave. He sued for his freedom and the court decided that he didn't have the right to sue in a federal court because he was black, he was his master's property and Congress doesn't have the power to take a person's property away without due process of law, and that the Missouri Compromise was