Supreme Court Milestones

Timeline created by daniel_wilson
  • John Jay

  • Creation of the Supreme Court

  • First Session of Supreme Court

  • Nations capitol moves to Washington D.C

  • John Marshall

  • Dred Scott v. Sanford

    Dred Scott v. Sanford
    The Supreme Court ruling was handed down on March 6, 1857, just two days after Buchanan's inauguration. Chief Justice Taney delivered the opinion of the Court, with each of the concurring and dissenting Justices filing separate opinions.[13] In total, six Justices agreed with the ruling; Samuel Nelson concurred with the ruling but not its reasoning, and Benjamin R. Curtis and John McLean dissented. The court misspelled Sanford's name in the decision.
  • Expansion of Justices

  • William Howard Taft

  • Supreme Court Relocates

  • Brown vs. Board of Education