History of Union Gospel Mission of Salem By qburke Jul 27, 1953 The Beginning . . . UGM Salem is founded by a group of Christian business men and begins serving its first meals to the homeless and needy. George Simonka serves as the first Executive Director. Period: Jul 27, 1953 to Jul 27, 2010 History of UGM Salem Jul 27, 1958 New Building A building is acquired, which over the years will be expanded and remodeled and is the present day location for the men’s ministry. Jul 27, 1968 Building for Women A facility is acquired to serve women and children – the first of its kind on the west coast. Jul 27, 1989 Tom Zobel Upon George’s retirement, Tom Zobel becomes the second Executive Director. Jul 27, 1996 New Store Location The Mission Store expands with a new location. Jul 27, 1998 Women Services Expanded Services to women and children are expanded with a new facility in nearby Keizer, Oregon (the current Simonka Place). Jul 27, 2008 Michael Rideout Michael Rideout becomes the third President/CEO. Michael brings extensive experience in addiction recovery, after-care and transitional services. Jul 27, 2008 Dental Clinic Opens The Dental Clinic opens and begins providing free dental care to Mission clients. Jul 27, 2009 Men's Transitional Housing Opens Grear Street Transitional Housing is established to provide safe, affordable housing for men as they leave the Men’s Mission and transition back into society.