• Georgia Colony Established

    In 1733, General James Oglethorpe, acting on behalf of the Trustees for the Establishment of the Colony of Georgia in England, landed a group of colonists and settled the town of Savannah in the new colony of Georgia. Georgia was established in part as an experiment, based on ideals lost in the other colonies’ growth, and to provide the mother country with raw goods.
  • Stono Rebellion

    The largest and most significant slave rebellion in the British North American colonies, the Stono Rebellion revealed tensions that continued in slave states throughout the next century.
  • The Sugar Act was Established

    The Sugar Act served as a revenue raising act, passed by Great Britain to tax sugar and other goods to pay for the Seven Years War.
  • Stamp Act was Established

    An act of the British Parliament in 1765 that exacted revenue from the American colonies by imposing a stamp duty on newspapers and legal and commercial documents. Colonial opposition led to the act's repeal in 1766 and helped encourage the revolutionary movement against the Crown.
  • The Townshend Acts

    The Townshend Acts were a series of measures, passed by the British Parliament in 1767, that taxed goods imported to the American colonies
  • The Boston Massacre

    The Boston Massacre was a confrontation on March 5, 1770, in which British soldiers shot and killed several people while being harassed by a mob in Boston. The event was heavily publicized by leading Patriots such as Paul Revere and Samuel Adams.
  • The Boston Tea Party

    The Boston Tea Party was an American political and mercantile protest by the Sons of Liberty in Boston, Massachusetts, on December 16, 1773. The target was the Tea Act of May 10, 1773, which allowed the British East India Company to sell tea from China in American colonies without paying taxes apart from those imposed by the Townshend Acts.
  • The Declaration of Independence

    The United States Declaration of Independence is the pronouncement adopted by the Second Continental Congress meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, on July 4, 1776. The Declaration explains why the Thirteen Colonies at war with the Kingdom of Great Britain regarded themselves as thirteen independent sovereign states, no longer under British rule.