The Right to Vote

By wjustin
  • 15th Amendment

    15th Amendment
    The 15th Amendment prohibits the U.S. state and federal government from denying a citizen the right to vote based on that citizen's "race, color, or previous condition of servitude". Ratified February 3, 1870
  • 17th Amendment

    The Seventeenth Amendment (Amendment XVII) to the United States Constitution was passed by the Senate on June 12, 1911, the House of Representatives on May 13, 1912, and ratified by the states on April 8, 1913. The amendment supersedes Article I, § 3, Clauses 1 and 2 of the Constitution, transferring Senator selection from each state's legislature to popular election by the people of each state.
  • 19th Amendment

    19th Amendment
    The Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution prohibits each state and the federal government from denying any citizen the right to vote because of that citizen's sex. Ratified on August 18, 1920.
  • General Citizenship Act

    General Citizenship Act
    The General Citizenship Act grants all Native Americans the rights of citizenship, including the right to vote in federal election. Ratified June 2, 1924
  • Voting Rights Act

    The Voting Rights Act protects the rights of minority voters and eliminates voting barriers such as the literacy test.
  • 26th Amendment

    26th Amendment
    The Twenty-sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution standardized the voting age to 18. It was adopted in response to student activism against the Vietnam War and to partially overrule the Supreme Court's decision in Oregon v. Mitchell. Ratified July 1, 1971.
  • "Motor Voter Law"

    The National Voter Registration Act of 1993, also known as The Motor Voter Act, was signed into effect by United States President Bill Clinton on May 20, 1993, however compliance did not become mandatory until 1995. This acts makes it quicker and easier to register to vote.