The life of William Goulding

  • Willam's birth

    William was born on september 19, 1911, in Saint Columb Minor.He was born to the parents Margret and Alex.
  • Period: to

    willam's life

  • Willam attends college

    Willam attends college
    Willam began attending school in 1930 at Oxford. He spent two years in the science program, but then changed his major to litteracy.
  • Willam's first publised work

    In the year of 1934, William published his first work.The books was a book of poetry and entitled Poems. It did receive much critic attention.
  • Willam graduates

    William graduates from Oxford.He leaves with a bachelor degree in english and a diploma in education
  • Period: to

    William's career in the later years

    Golding worked as a writer, actor, and producer with a small theater in an unfashionable part of London, paying his bills with a job as a social worker. He considered the theater his strongest literary influence, citing Greek tragedians and Shakespeare, rather than other novelists, as his primary influences.
  • William teaches english

    William teaches english
    Golding began teaching English and philosophy in Salisbury at Bishop Wordsworth's School. That same year, he married Ann Brookfield, with whom he had two children.With the exception of five years he spent in the Royal Navy during World War II, he remained in the teaching position until 1961 when he left Bishop Wordsworth's School to write full time.
  • Period: to

    williams time in the navy

    The five years Golding spent in the navy (from 1940 to 1945) made an enormous impact, exposing him to the incredible cruelty and barbarity of which humankind is capable.Writing about his wartime experiences later, he asserted that "man produces evil, as a bee produces honey."
  • Lord of the Flies is published

    Lord of the Flies is published
    In Lord of the Flies, which was published in 1954, Golding combined that perception of humanity with his years of experience with schoolboys. Although not the first novel he wrote, Lord of the Flies was the first to be published after having been rejected by 21 publishers.
  • William publishes Inheritors

    A fast, intense writer, Golding quickly followed Lord of the Flies with The Inheritors (1955), a depiction of how the violent, deceitful Homo sapiens achieved victory over the gentler Neanderthals. Although this novel is the one readers have the most difficulty understanding, it remained Golding's favorite throughout his life.
  • William is granted membership in the Royal Society of Literature

    Following the publication of his best-known work, Lord of the Flies, Golding was granted membership in the Royal Society of Literature in 1955.
  • William's Pincher Martin is published

    Like Lord of the Flies, it concerns survival after shipwreck. Navy lieutenant Christopher Martin is thrown from his ship during combat in World War II. He finds a rock to cling to, and the rest of the story is related from this vantage point, detailing his struggle for survival and recounting the details of his life.
  • William publishes Free Fall

    Unlike his first three novels, Free Fall is told with a first person narrator, an artist named Samuel Mountjoy. The novel takes as a model Dante's La Vita Nuova, a collection of love poems interspersed with Dante's own commentary on the poems. Golding uses the character Mountjoy to comment on the conflict between rationalism and faith.
  • William publishes The Spire

    A fourteenth-century Dean of Barchester Cathedral decides that God wants a 400-foot-high spire added to the top of the cathedral, although the cathedral's foundation is not sufficient to hold the weight of the spire. The novel tells the story of the human costs of the spire's construction and the lessons that the Dean learns too late.
  • William publishes the Pyramid

    The Pyramid (1967) provides an examination of English social class within the context of a town ironically named Stilbourne. A primary issue in this story is music, and the novel utilizes the same structure as the musical form sonata.
  • William publishes The Scorpion God: Three Short Novels

    Each story explores the negative repercussions of technological progress — an idea that was in sharp contrast to the technology worship of the space age. One of the novellas had been originally published in 1956; Golding then turned the story into a comedic play titled The Brass Butterfly, which was first performed in London in 1958.
  • Wiliiam publishes Darkness Visible

    Golding's next novel, Darkness Visible, appeared in 1979. It addresses the interdependence of good and evil, exemplified in the two main characters: Sophy, who plots to kidnap a child for ransom, and Matty, who gives his life to prevent it.
  • Period: to

    Williams The Sea Trilogy is published

    One of Golding's most ambitious works is The Sea Trilogy, three full-length novels that follow the emotional education and moral growth of an aristocratic young man named Edmund Talbot during an ocean voyage to Australia in 1812. Rites of Passage (1980) shows Talbot's spiritual growth, Close Quarters (1987) depicts his emotional and aesthetic development, and Fire Down Below (1989) covers his political enlightenment.
  • Williams Rites of Passage wins The Booker Prize

    Williams Rites of Passage wins The Booker Prize
    His 1980 novel Rites of Passage won the Booker Prize, a prestigious British award.
  • William is awarded The Nobel Prize

    Golding's greatest honor was being awarded the 1983 Nobel Prize for Literature.
  • William's novel The Paper Men is published

    Golding's 1984 publication, The Paper Men, was condemned by reviewers as his worst work, partly because the novel seemed to condemn literary critics. The plot concerns an elderly novelist trying to elude a young scholar who wants to write his biography.