William golding

William Golding

  • William Gerald Golding was born

    William Gerald Golding was born
    William Golding was born on September 19, 911, in Saint Columb Minor, Cornwall England. He was brought up living in a 14th-century house, which was neighboring to a graveyard. He lived with his mother who was an active suffragette who fought for women's rights, and his father who was a schoolmaster
  • Period: to

    William Golding

    Timeline based on the life of William Golding
  • Brasenose College

    Brasenose College
    William attended Brasenose College in Oxford. He took three years of college. The first two years he studied science, and in his final year he took literature
  • "Poems"

    Golding's first book was published a year before he graduated. It was a book of poems titled "Poems". Looking back, he considers this "juvenile". The poems within the book illustrate his increasing distrust pf the rationalism he was exposed to; he was aiming to mock well-known rationalists and their ideas
  • Graduated Brasenose

    Graduated Brasenose
    Golding graduated Brasenose in 1935 with a Bachelor of Arts in English, and a Diploma in education. In the near future this will become quite useful
  • Started Teaching

    Started Teaching
    Golding received a teaching job at Bishop Wordworth's School in Salisbury. He taught English and Philosophy. This would later become and inspiration for his novel "Lord of the Flies"
  • Marriage

    Golding married Ann Brookfield in 1939. The happy couple would later have two children together.
  • Dave Golding

    Dave Golding
    Dave Golding was born in 1940. Dave Golding was the couples first born and only son
  • Royal Navy

    Royal Navy
    Golding joined the Royal Navy when World War II occurred. Golding spent five years within the Royal Navy until the war ended and came back home
  • Returned to Teaching

    Returned to Teaching
    When coming back from the war, Golding was given back his job as a teacher. He took the job and continued teaching to support his family
  • Judith Golding

    Judith Golding
    Judith Golding was born in 1945. Judith is their second born child and only daughter
  • "The Inheritors"

    "The Inheritors"
    "The Inheritors" is Golding's second novel, following "Lord Of The Flies". "The Inheritors" revolves around one of the last remaining tribes (Neanderthals) and how they risk extinction, while being left at the hands of sophisticated Homo sapiens
  • "Lord Of The Flies"

    "Lord Of The Flies"
    In 1955, the famous novel "Lord Of The Flies" was published. "Lord Of The Flies" revolves around human nature, causes, effects, and the manifestation of evil
  • "Pincher Martin"

    "Pincher Martin"
    "Pincher Martin" is Golding's third novel following "the Inheritors" and "Lord Of The Flies". "Pincher Martin" surrounds the survival, psychophysical, spiritual and existential life of Christopher Hadley "Pincher" Martin, who believes he is the sole survivor of a military torpedo destroyer which sunk
  • "Free Fall"

    "Free Fall"
    "Free Fall" is a novel written in the point of view of an English Painter, Samuel Mountjoy. Samuel was held as prisoner in a German POW camp during World War II, and tries to escape before facing death
  • Retirement

    Golding retired form teaching in 1963. He wanted to spend more time with his wife and live peacefully in Cornwall
  • "The Spire"

    "The Spire"
    "The Spire" is a novel that deals with the construction of the 404 foot high spire. The spire is loosely based off of the Salisbury Cathedral
  • "The Pyramid"

    "The Pyramid"
    "The Pyramid" is a novel that describes the experiences of being raised in the 1920s. The novel shares three separate stories from his childhood, resolving them many years later
  • "Rites Of Passage"

    "Rites Of Passage"
    "Rites Of Passage" is a science fiction novel that was published in 1980. The novel is set on a ship bound for Australia in the early 19th century, based on the story of the young Mr. Colley and his wish
  • 1980 Booker McConell Prize

    1980 Booker McConell Prize
    Golding won the 1980 Booker McConnell Prize. He won the prize for his novel "Rites Of Passage"
  • "A Moving Target"

    "A Moving Target"
    "A Moving Target " is a collection of essays and lectures that was written my Golding himself. The book itself is divided into two parts: "Places" and "Ideas"
  • Nobel Prize

    Nobel Prize
    In 1983, William Golding received the Nobel Prize for literature. His novels were written "with the perspicuity of realistic narrative art and the diversity and universality of myth" which illuminates the human conditions in the world today
  • "The Paper Men"

    "The Paper Men"
    "The Paper Men" is a novel written by Golding which was published in 1984. This protagonist within this novel is Wilfred Barclay, who is a write with a drinking problem, a dead marriage, and the incurable sin of middle-age lust
  • Knighted

    William Golding was knighted by Queen Elizabeth II in 1988. He was then known as "Sir William"
  • Death

    William Golding died in Cornwall, England on June 19, 1993. He died at the age of 82 due to a heart attack