Shogunate Japan

By Benny_P
  • 403

    The start of the Warring Statrd period

    The warring states period began in 403 BC and ended in 221 BC. It resulted in the establishment of a complex bureaucracies and centralized governments as well as a clearly established legal system.
  • Period: Jan 1, 1180 to Jan 1, 1185

    Minamoto clan seizes power

    In 1180-1185, the Minamoto clan seized power in the emporor's name. This lead to the Genpei war between the Tairo and Minamoto clans. The Tairo clan fell and this led to the establishment of Kamakura shogonate under Minamoto Yoritomo in 1192
  • Jan 1, 1232

    Goseibai Shikimoku legal code established

    the goseibai shikimoku legal code established certain laws that enabled the Kamakura shogunate to act upon.
  • Jan 1, 1268

    Shogun Ashikaga Yoshimitsu started his of the Ashikaa shogunate

    The Shogun Ashikaga Yoshimitsu was the third shogun of the Ashikaga shogunate. He ruled from 1268 until 1394. This resulted in political stability for the Ashikaga shogunate.
  • Jan 1, 1274

    First Mongol invasion

    The mongols of Kublai khan tried to invade Japan but were stopped by a large typhoon or Kamakaze.
  • Jan 1, 1281

    Second Mongol Invasion

    The Mongols invaded Japan a second time in 1281. This time the Japanes were prepared and they were winning the battle when a typhoon once again drowned most of the Mongol attackers
  • Jan 1, 1333

    Emperor Go-Daigo overthrows the Kamakura government.

    Emperor Go-Daigo overthrows the Kamakura government which reestablished the imperial rule for a short time.
  • Jan 1, 1336

    Rivalry between Northern and Southern Emperors Begins

    The rivalry between Northern and Southern Emperors Began in 1336 and lasted until 1392
  • Jan 1, 1543

    Firearms were brought to Japan

    Firearms were brought to Japan in 1543 by people from Portugal. The weapons arrived by using the Nanban trade which was a Southern barbarian trade period.
  • Period: to

    The Tokugawa shogunate ruled Japan

    The Tokugawa shogunate was started by a man called Ieyasu Tokugawa. The shogunate lasted from 1603 until 1868 and the capitol was Edo which is now called Tokyo, Japan.