Jacob Reconstruction Timeline

  • Black Codes

    Black Codes
    The Black Codes were a series of laws that were passed by the legislatures in the southern states. The laws were to help control the newly freed African Americans. This included making it illegal for African Americans to own or rent farms. It also made it easy for white employers to take advantage of African American workers.
  • Civil Rights Act of 1866

    Civil Rights Act of 1866
    The Civil Rights Act was a law that gave the federal governent power to get involved in state affairs to protect African Americans Rights. Also it granted African Americans citizenship. The Civil Rights Act was meant to counter the Supreme Court decision in the 1857 case.
  • Reconstruction Acts (First and Second)

    Reconstruction Acts (First and Second)
    This law required that those states form new govenments. It also divided 10 defient states into five military districts. Confederate leaders were banned from serving in these new govenments.
  • 14th Amendment

    14th Amendment
    The 14th Amendment was proposed to the constitution in 1868. It stated that "All persons born naturalized in the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the State wherein they reside." This means that only people who are born or had childhood in the United States are citizens.
  • 15th Amendment

    15th Amendment
    This Amendment happened after the Reconstruction was over. The 15th Amendment guarenteed that state and federal governments could not deny previous condition of servitude. When it was ratified the Republicans thought there job was largely done.