• Declaration of Independence

    Thirteen colonies declared their independence from Britain.
  • Articles of Confederation endorsed byt the Continental Congress and submitted to the colonies for ratification.

  • Articles of Confederation officially " in force" after ratification by the colonies.

  • Treaty of Paris is signed by Great Britain and the United States, ending the Revolutionary War. Senate ratifies in 1784.

  • Land Ordinance of 1785 passed by Congress provides for rectangular survey dividing northwestern territories into townships, which are in turn divided into lots of acres each, with one lot set aside for public education

  • Ordinance of Religious Freedom adopted by Virginia legislature written by Thomas Jefferson, this statue would later become the model for the first amendment of the Constitution

  • Daniel Shay leads a rebellion of 1,200 men in an attack against the federal arsenal in Springfield, Masachusetts. An important incident in influencing the creation of a new Constitution

  • onstitutional convention assembles in Philadelphia

  • Northwest Ordinence enacted

    Northwest Ordinence enacted by Congress provides for the eventual incorporation of three to five new states in the northwest territories, with the establishment of a bicameral assembly, freedom of religion, the right to trial by jury, public education, and a ban on slavery.
  • Great compromise

    The great compromise ( Connecticut Compromise) is prestned by Roger Sherman, reconciling the VIrginia and New Jersey Plan, advocates proportional representation in the House of Representativesand equal representation in the Senate
  • Constitution is endorsed by Congress and sent to state legislature for ratification

  • Federalist Papers begin to be published

  • The Constitution is in effecr after receiving approval of the requisite nine states

  • George Washington is elected the first President of the United States and John Adams is Vice President

  • War and Treasury Department are established by Congress. Henry Knox will be the Secretary of War; Alexander Hamilton will be the Secretary of Treasury

  • Federal Judiciary Act is passed by Congress, creates a six-man Supreme Court with a Chief Justice and five Associate Justices. Also provides for an Attorney General. and for a Judicial System of 13 district courts and three circuit courts

  • The Bill of Rights is submitted by Congress to the states to be ratified

  • Thomas Jefferson is officially named Secretary of State; John Jay is named Chief Justrice of the Supreme Court

  • The Bill of Rights is ratified