Conquista de Canarias

  • 1291

    The Vivaldi brothers

    The Canary Islands were discovered by the Romans and Greeks, who lost the location of the Islands. In the 13th century the Vivaldi Brothers rediscovered them, and since then they have been remembered until today
  • 1312

    Lancelot Malocello

    Lanceloto Malocello went in search of the Vivaldi brothers who were missing, and in his search he reached the Canary Islands, where it is said that he spent more than twenty years. In addition, Lancelot was named after him thanks to him.
  • 1339

    Maritime portolan

    In this year, the first maritime portolan was created, in which the Canary Islands were drawn, made by Angelino Dulcert. This happened thanks to the rediscovery of the islands by the Vivaldi brothers and the arrival of Lancellotto Malocello.
  • 1341

    Portugal's expedition

    King Alfonso IV of Portugal ordered an expedition to the Canary Islands departing from Lisbon. This was one of the first expeditions from which a first description of the Islands was brought.
  • 1344

    Luis de la cerda

    Pope Clement VI ceded the territory of the Canary Islands to Luis de la Cerda, to evangelize it, and also granted him sovereignty over the islands.
  • 1351

    Bishopric of fortune

    Luis de la Cerda failed to evangelize the Islands, so he made the pontifical powers cede the evangelization to the Majorcans, and in this way they created the Bishopric of La Fortuna in Telde, which will become extinct around the year 1393
  • 1352

    The Majorcan expeditions

    In 1352 a Majorcan mission was established on the island of Gran Canaria. With this it was intended to integrate with the aborigines and integrate Catholicism. Finally, the data of this expedition have not been clearly collected.
  • 1365

    Juan de Bethencourt

    Juan de Bethencourt is the French initiator of the conquest of the Canary Islands in the year 1401 and for that reason, he was named feudatory of the Canary Islands.
  • 1402

    Conquest of the Canary Islands

    The conquest of the Canary Islands was divided into two phases, which were Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and El Hierro by Juan de Bethencourt, called a stately conquest, while Gran Canaria, Tenerife and La Palma were conquered by the Catholic Monarchs and were called royal conquest.
  • 1402

    The conquest of Lanzarote

    The island of Lanzarote was conquered by Juan de Bethencourt, together with Gadifer de la Salle in the year 1402.
  • 1402

    The conquest of Fuerteventura

    This other island was also conquered by Juan de Bethencourt.
  • 1406

    Conquests of La Gomera and El Hierro

    Juan de Bethencourt attacked these two islands, in order to conquer them, since the aborigines did not have great resistance.
  • 1477

    Tha Catholic Monarchs

    There were three islands left to conquer, and the Portuguese threatened to do so, so the Catholic Monarchs got involved and scheduled expeditions to conquer the islands at the hands of Diego de Herrera.
  • 1478

    Conquest of Gran Canaria

    Juan Rejón and Dean Bermúdez were sent by the Catholic Monarchs and they disembark in Gran Canaria to conquer it. This island was very hard to conquer as they had a lot of resistance. In this way the Kings decide to send Pedro de Vera and he ends the conquest of this island in the year 1483.
  • 1492

    Conquest of La Palma

    Alonso Fernández de Luga, conquered Palma, at the end of the island of Gran Canaria, this conquest was easy and ended in the year 1493.
  • 1494

    Conquest of Tenerife

    This conquest was also carried out by Alonso Fernández, but it was very difficult due to the great opposition of the Menceyes.