Cold War

  • United Nations (UN) Formed (1945)

    United Nations (UN) Formed (1945)
    The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.
  • Germany Divided (1945)

    Germany Divided (1945)
    At the Potsdam Conference (17 July to 2 August 1945), after Germany's unconditional surrender on 8 May 1945, the Allies divided Germany into four military occupation zones — France in the southwest, Britain in the northwest, the United States in the south, and the Soviet Union in the east.
  • The Cold War (1947- 1991)

    The Cold War (1947- 1991)
    The Cold War was a period of geopolitical tension between the Soviet Union with its satellite states, and the United States with its allies after World War II.
  • Truman Doctrine (1947)

    Truman Doctrine (1947)
    The Truman Doctrine was an American foreign policy whose stated purpose was to counter Soviet geopolitical expansion during the Cold War. It was announced to Congress by President Harry S. Truman on March 12, 1947, and further developed on July 4, 1948, when he pledged to contain threats in Greece and Turkey
  • Marshall Plan (1948)

    Marshall Plan (1948)
    The Marshall Plan was an American initiative passed in 1948 to aid Western Europe, in which the United States gave over $12 billion in economic assistance to help rebuild Western European economies after the end of World War II.
  • Berlin Airlift (1948)

    Berlin Airlift (1948)
    The Berlin Blockade was one of the first major international crises of the Cold War. During the multinational occupation of post–World War II Germany, the Soviet Union blocked the Western Allies' railway, road, and canal access to the sectors of Berlin under Western control.
  • NATO Formed (1949)

    NATO Formed (1949)
    The North Atlantic Treaty Organization was created in 1949 by the United States, Canada, and several Western European nations to provide collective security against the Soviet Union. NATO was the first peacetime military alliance the United States entered into outside of the Western Hemisphere.
  • Korean War (1950- 1953)

     Korean War (1950- 1953)
    The Korean War was a war between North Korea and South Korea. The war began on 25 June 1950 when North Korea invaded South Korea following a series of clashes along the border.
  • Kim Il-sung invade South Korea (1950)

    Kim Il-sung invade South Korea (1950)
    Coming to power after the end of Japanese rule in 1945, he authorized the invasion of South Korea in 1950, triggering an intervention in defense of South Korea by the United Nations led by the United States. Following the military stalemate in the Korean War, a ceasefire was signed on 27 July 1953.
  • UN forces push North Korea to Yalu River- the border with China (1950)

    UN forces push North Korea to Yalu River- the border with China (1950)
    On 27 September near Osan UN forces coming from Inchon linked up with UN forces that had broken out of the Pusan Perimeter and began a general counteroffensive. The North Korean Korean People's Army (KPA) had been shattered and its remnants were fleeing back towards North Korea. The UN Command then decided to pursue the KPA into North Korea, completing their destruction and unifying the country.
  • Chinese forces cross Yalu and enter Korean War (1950)

    Chinese forces cross Yalu and enter Korean War (1950)
    Those who escaped envelopment and capture were forced back north. UN forces invaded North Korea in October 1950 and moved rapidly towards the Yalu River—the border with China—but on 19 October 1950, Chinese forces of the People's Volunteer Army (PVA) crossed the Yalu and entered the war.
  • Ethel and Julius Rosenberg Execution (1953)

    Ethel and Julius Rosenberg Execution (1953)
    Julius and Ethel Rosenberg were American citizens who were accused and convicted of spying on behalf of the Soviet Union.
  • Armistice Signed (1953)

    Armistice Signed (1953)
    The Korean Armistice Agreement is the armistice which brought about a complete cessation of hostilities of the Korean War
  • Warsaw Pact Formed (1955)

    Warsaw Pact Formed (1955)
    he Warsaw Treaty Organization (also known as the Warsaw Pact) was a political and military alliance established on May 14, 1955 between the Soviet Union and several Eastern European countries.
  • Sputnik I (1957)

    Sputnik I (1957)
    Sputnik 1 was the first artificial Earth satellite. The Soviet Union launched it into an elliptical low Earth orbit on 4 October 1957, orbiting for three weeks before its batteries died, then silently for two more months before falling back into the atmosphere