American Revolution

  • The Stamp Act

    The Stamp Act
    The Stamp Act was the first stamp act to be passed by the parliment of Great Britain. It was a tax on all printed goods in the colonies. It was different from the previous acts because it was a direct tax. It ranged from 1 cent to 10 dollars. It lead to boycotts and british goods. It was reprealed in 1766.
  • The Sugar Act

    The Sugar Act
    The Sugar Act is also known as The American Revenue Act. The Sugar Act was a tax on sugar. It was an indirect tax and the goal was to decrease smuggling. The British began the Writs of Assistance, which was, any ship entering or leave the harbor could be searched by a soldier.
  • The Boston Massacre

    The Boston Massacre
    The Boston Massacre was a shooting that led to five civilian deaths by the British Troops. It happened in the early evening on King Street. No one really knows how it started but it ended by five deaths and eleven injuries. Every coloniest was enraged.
  • The Declaratory Act

    The Declaratory Act
    The Declaration Act accompanied the Sugar Act. It was an act the pretty much stated the any laws that the colonies passed ment nothing, unless Britain aproved. The colonies got mad because the thought it was wrong.
  • The Tea Act

    The Tea Act
    The Tea Act was a tax on tea. Everyone was mad beacuse the British taxed something everyone used everyday. The reason for the tax was because the East Indian Company was going bankrupt so the tax would help them and also get tax from the americans. Colonists turned Tea ships back to britain. Some people believe that this act was the thing to really cause the Revolutionary War.
  • The Boston Tea Party

    The Boston Tea Party
    The Boston Tea Party is one of the most known events. It started by officials in Boston refusing to turn back three ships of taxed tea. A group of colonists dressed up as indians and snuck on the ships. They then took all the tea and poured it into the Boston Harbor.
  • The Intolerable Act

    The Intolerable Act
    The Intolerable Acts is a series of five laws that were passed by the British Parliament. This is also known as the Coercive Acts. The five laws that made up the Intolerable Acts were, Quartering Act, Boston Port Bill, Administraion of Justice Act, Massachusetts Government Act and Qubec act. These acts were used to get greater benefits from the colonies.