• 1492

    Christopher Columbus discovers America

    Christopher Columbus discovers America
    Discovery of America is the historical event that took place on October 12, 1492, with the arrival in America of an expedition from the Iberian Peninsula led by Christopher Columbus by order of the Catholic Monarchs, Isabel de Castilla and Fernando de Aragón.
  • The Dutch founded New Amsterdam

    The Dutch founded New Amsterdam
    In 1626, Peter Minuit, governor of the Dutch West India Company, bought Manhattan Island from the Indians for $24 and created a colony he called New Amsterdam. The colony specialized in the fur trade with the Indians.
  • Boston City Foundation

    Boston City Foundation
    Boston was founded on November 17, 1630 by Puritan settlers from England, called the Pilgrim Patriarchs.
  • The English founded a colony in Charles Town in South Carolina

    The English founded a colony in Charles Town in South Carolina
    Charles Town was founded in 1670 by English settlers to be a sister city to Boston. It was named after Charles Town, in honor of King Charles II of England.
  • Foundation of Detroit by the French, with the name of Fort Pontchartrain.

    Foundation of Detroit by the French, with the name of Fort Pontchartrain.
    Fort Pontchartrain du Détroit was a fort in what is now the United States, built on the west bank of the Detroit River by French officer Antoine de Lamothe-Cadillac in 1701.
  • Period: to

    Franco-Indian War in the North American colonies

    The part of the Seven Years' War developed in North America is known as the Franco-Indian War. The two main enemies that the different indigenous tribes of America faced were the British and the French.
  • Sugar law

    Sugar law
    The Sugar Law was a law for the collection of taxes and to prevent the smuggling of sugar. It was passed by the Parliament of Great Britain on April 5, 1764.
  • Stamp Law

    Stamp Law
    The Stamp Law of 1765 was an act of the British Parliament that provided a direct and specific tax on the thirteen colonies of British America that required most printed material in the colonies to be published on stamped paper produced in London, stamped with an embossed tax stamp.
  • Townshend's Laws

    Townshend's Laws
    The Townshend Acts passed resolutions to impose various exports to the United States, such as glass, paint, paper, and tea. They established a board of commissioners in Boston to enforce them, which was seen as a threat to the American colonial tradition of self-government.
  • Boston massacre

    Boston massacre
    In 1768 the British government sent troops to the Massachusetts colony to keep order. In 1770 settlers, resentful of the english soldiers, began throwing snowballs and rocks at a platoon.
    In the midst of the disorder, one of the soldiers fired into the crowd and started a fight that left 5 settlers dead. The leaders of the colonies took advantage and made an engraving that alarmed the population. Propaganda was made against the king's army, named after the engraving ''The Boston Massacre''.
  • Tea riot

    Tea riot
    The British authorities gave the English East India Company a monopoly on tea. This monopoly could only sell tea brought from Asia on the shores of North America.
    The settlers were affected by this measure. So they planned a mutiny for December 16, 1773. Disguised in indigenous clothing, they boarded three English ships in Boston Harbor and dumped the cargoes of tea into the sea. When King George III learned of this, he noted that the colonies behaved to be tolerant.
  • Delegates met in Philadelphia

    Delegates met in Philadelphia
    In September 1774, delegates from 12 of the thirteen colonies (except Georgia) met in Philadelphia. They debated a plan of action and asked the parliament to eliminate the laws that harmed them so much. It was also determined to have a mutual defense plan. If one of the colonies was attacked, all the others would defend it.
  • George Washington Commander-in-Chief

    George Washington Commander-in-Chief
    Although there were many discussions in June 1775 George Washington was appointed Commander in Chief of the Continental Armies of America.
  • Battle of Lexington

    Battle of Lexington
    On April 19, 1775, the English general Thomas Gage went to the town of Concord, Massachusetts, to confiscate weapons. This news reached the villagers, who prepared to stop the English soldiers.
    As the redcoats were about to pass through the town of Lexington on their way to Concord, they encountered a group of armed settlers. Then the first shots were fired that started the independence.
  • Declaration of Independence

    Declaration of Independence
    After several battles, in mid-1776 the congressmen representing the thirteen colonies concluded that they should become independent states. A commission was chosen to write the Act of Independence, with Thomas Jefferson as the main drafter.
  • Battle of Saratoga

    Battle of Saratoga
    In 1777 the Battle of Saratoga took place in a region between Boston and the Great Lakes area, near the Hudson River. British General John Burgoyne wanted to cut off New England from the rest of the northern colonies and inflict as many casualties as possible on the ranks of the rebel army. This battle ended in victory for the Americans and consolidated the triumph of the citizen militias over a line army, which precipitated the support of France and the Spanish Empire for the independence cause
  • Signing of the peace treaty between Great Britain and the United States of America

    Signing of the peace treaty between Great Britain and the United States of America
    In September 1781, the troops of George Washington and his French allies besieged the town of Yorktown, Virginia. There was the English general Charles Cornwallis, who had to surrender. The capture of him and his soldiers forced the British government to negotiate a way out of the conflict. Finally, in September 1783, the peace treaty between Great Britain and the United States of America was signed in Paris.