Timeline English Literature

  • 450

    450-1066 Olg England period

    450-1066 Olg England period
    This period of literature dates back to their invasion (along with the Jutes) of Celtic England around 450, this era ending in 1066 when Norman France was under the command of William, who conquered England. The prose focused during the time on legal, medical or religious issues.
  • 1066

    1066-1500 Middle English period

    1066-1500 Middle English period
    This era extends to around 1500, much like the Old English period, literature was for religious writings that included poetry, theology and the lives of saints, but scientific works were also produced, works of all kinds, from the sacred to the profane, this period highlights characters such as Chaucer, Thomas Malory and Robert Henryson and the most important works were "Piers Plowman" and "Sir Gawain and the Green Knight."
  • 1500

    1500-1660 Renaissance period

    1500-1660 Renaissance period
    Some literary critics and historians have begun to call this the "Early Modern Age" period, but the historically familiar term "Renaissance" is used. This period is often subdivided into four parts, including the Elizabethan age (1558-1603), the Jacobean age (1603-1625), the Carolina age (1625-1649), and the Commonwealth period (1649-1660). The Elizabethan Age was considered the golden age of English drama, notable figures include Christopher Marlowe, Raleigh and William Shakespeare.
  • 1558

    1558 - 1603 Elizabethan period

    1558 - 1603 Elizabethan period
    This time had a prosperous literary production, especially in terms of theater. William Shakespeare, author of poetry and theater, stands out and surely the most relevant figure that English literature has had in his history. Among the most relevant writings this Romeo and Juliet is a tragedy by the English playwright William Shakespeare. It tells the story of two young lovers who, despite the opposition of their rival families, decide to marry clandestinely and live together.
  • 1600-1675 The Neoclassical period

    1600-1675 The Neoclassical period
    This period is subdivided into ages, including The Restoration (1660-1700), The Age of Augustus (1700-1745), and The Age of Sensitivity (1745-1785). The Restoration period sees some response to the Puritan age, especially in the theater.
  • 1603 - 1625 The Jacobean era

    1603 - 1625 The Jacobean era
    The Jacobin era is the period in English and Scottish history that coincides with the reign of James VI of Scotland (1567–1625), who also inherited the crown of England under the name of James I.
  • 1625-1649 Carolina's age

     1625-1649 Carolina's age
    The turbulent period of the mid-17th century, during the reign of Charles I, the subsequent Commonwealth, and the Protectorate, witnessed the birth of political literature.
  • 1649-1660 Commonwealth period

    1649-1660 Commonwealth period
    It was named for the period between the end of the English Civil War and the restoration of the Stuart monarchy.
  • 1660-1700 The Restoration - Lyric Poetry

    1660-1700 The Restoration - Lyric Poetry
    In this period the theaters reopened, it provided the opportunity to perform satirical works about the new nobility and the growing bourgeoisie. The mobility of society, which followed the social upheavals of the previous generation, provided the ideas for the creation of the comedy of customs.
  • 1700 -1745 The Augusta era

    1700 -1745 The Augusta era
    It was the time of Alexander Pope and Jonathan Swift, who imitated those early Augustinians and even drew parallels between them and the first ensemble.
  • 1745-1785 The Age of Sensitivity

    1745-1785 The Age of Sensitivity
    Ideas such as neoclassicism, the critical and literary mode, and the Enlightenment, a particular worldview shared by many intellectuals were defended during this period.
  • 1785-1832 Romantic Period

    1785-1832 Romantic Period
    The date of the beginning of the Romantic period is often debated, some researchers claim it is 1785, immediately after the Age of Sensitivity. Others say that it began in 1789 with the start of the French Revolution, and others believe that 1798 when the book Lyrical Ballads by William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge was published, is its true beginning. The Romantic period refers to the era of British literature, the most popular and well-known of all literary eras.
  • 1786-1800 The Gothic era

    1786-1800 The Gothic era
    Notable writings from this period include Matthew Lewis, Anne Radcliffe, and William Beckford.
  • 1832-1901 Victorian period

    1832-1901 Victorian period
    This period is named after Queen Victoria, who ascended to the throne in 1837 and lasted until her death in 1901. It was a time of great social, religious, intellectual and economic problems due to the approval of the Reform Project, which expanded the voting rights. The period has been divided into "Early" (1832-1848), "Middle" (1848-1870) and "Late" (1870-1901) periods or into two phases, that of the Pre-Raphaelites (1848-1860) and that of Aesthetics and decadence (1880-1901).
  • 1901-1914 The Edwardian Period

    1901-1914 The Edwardian Period
    The Edwardian era or the Edwardian period of British history, named after King Edward VII and spanned his reign from 1901 to 1910 extended until the outbreak of World War I and the death of Queen Victoria in January 1901 marked the late Victorian era, includes such novelists as Joseph Conrad, Ford Madox Ford, Rudyard Kipling, HG Wells and Henry.
  • 1910-19336 The Georgian Period

    1910-19336 The Georgian Period
    The Georgian period generally refers to the reign of George V (1910-1936), but sometimes it also includes the reigns of the four successive Georges from 1714-1830. Here, we refer to the above description as it applies chronologically and covers, for example, Georgian poets, such as Ralph Hodgson, John Masefield, WH Davies, and Rupert Brooke.
  • 1936-1950 The Modern Period

    1936-1950 The Modern Period
    The modern period is traditionally applied to works written after the start of the First World War. Common characteristics include bold experimentation with subject, style, and form, spanning narrative, verse, and drama. Words from WB Yeats, “Things are falling apart; the center cannot stand ”is often referred to when describing the basic principle or“ feeling ”of modernist concerns. (1950) CS Lewis gets his first glimpse of Narnia in The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.
  • 1950 - 2000 The Postmodern Period

    1950 - 2000 The Postmodern Period
    The postmodern period begins when World War II ended. Some say the period ended around 1990, but others did not. Poststructuralist literary criticism developed during this time. Some writers of the time include Samuel Beckett, Joseph Heller, Anthony Burgess, John Fowles, Penelope M. Lively, and Iain Banks. Many postmodern authors wrote during the modern period as well. (1997) Ashoolboy's wizard performs his first tricks in JK Rowling's Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone.
  • 2000 - 2021 The Contemporary Period - Current Period

    2000 - 2021 The Contemporary Period - Current Period
    Among the most notable writers are Suzanne Collin and Jk Rowling.