The United States of America's Presidents

  • Abraham Lincoln

    Abraham Lincoln
    Abraham Lincoln was from the republican party. He came from Illinois. His vice president Andrew Johnson took his position when he was assasinated by John Wilkes Booth at the Ford's Theater. He is famous for The Emancipation Proclamation and The Gettysburgh Address.
  • Andrew Johnson

    Andrew Johnson
    Andrew Johnson was in office for one term and represented the Republican party. He came from Tennessee. Since he took the Presidency by default after Lincoln's assasination, he did not have a vice president. He served during the reconstruction of America after our civil war. Andrew Johnson was impeached but was acquitted.
  • Ulysess S. Grant

    Ulysess S. Grant
    Ulysess S. Grant was a president of the Republican party. He served in his position for two full terms. His vice presidents were Schuyler Colfax and Henry Wilson. One of the main problems solved in his terms were the end of violence created by the Ku Klux Klan and gave African Americans voting rights.
  • Rutherford B. Hayes

    Rutherford B. Hayes
    Rutherford B. Hayes represented the Republican party under pressidency for one term. His vice president was William A. Wheeler. He oversaw the reconstruction of our country and went into office at the beginning of the Second Industrial Revolution.
  • James A. Garfield

    James A. Garfield
    He represented the Republican party. He only was in office for a mere 200 days before being shot on September 19, 1881. Very little was accomplished in those few months of presidency. His vice president Chester A. Arthur took the empty position after his death.
  • Chester A. Arthur

    Chester A. Arthur
    He represented the Republican party. He was sworn into presidency immediately upon James Garfield's assasination. He left office well respected and pushed the Pendleton Act.
  • Grover Cleveland

    Grover Cleveland
    Grover Cleveland was a Democrat from New York. He was in office for one term. He was president once again though in 1893-1897. His first term went pretty smooth but his second time in office is known as the Panic of 1893 that began a severe national depression.He was a heavily criticized president.
  • William McKinley

    William McKinley
    This president represented the Republican party. He led our country to victory in the Spanish-American War. He also maintained the gold standard and promoted industry of America.
  • Theodore Roosevelt

    Theodore Roosevelt
    He represented the Republican party. He is one of the most historically memorable presidents of our nation's past. He served in office for 2 full terms. While under presidency he made achievements as a hunter, author, naturalist, author and more importantly, a soldier for our country. He is also well known for his leadership in the Progressive Movement.
  • Herbert Hoover

    Herbert Hoover
    Herbert Hoover represented the Republican party. He won his election in a landslide over Al Smith. He did everything to could to fix crisises such as the Wall Street Crash of 1929 and the Great Depression. He enforced many tariffs to do so.