revolutionary war

  • treaty of paris 1763

    treaty of paris 1763
    The Treaty of Paris, also known as the Peace of Paris and the Treaty of 1763, was signed on 10 February 1763 by the kingdoms of Great Britain, France and Spain, with Portugal in agreement, after Britain's victory over France and Spain during the Seven Years' War.
  • proclamation of 1763

    proclamation of 1763
    The end of the French and Indian War in 1763 was a cause for great celebration in the colonies. The first thing on the minds of colonists was the great western frontier that had opened to them when the French ceded that contested territory to the British. The proclamation also established or defined four new colonies.
  • Period: to

    revolutionary war

  • stamp act

    stamp act
    he Stamp Act 1765 imposed a direct tax by the British Parliament specifically on the colonies of British America, and it required that many printed materials in the colonies be produced on stamped paper produced in London, carrying an embossed revenue stamp. These printed materials were legal documents, magazines, newspapers and many other types of paper used throughout the colonies.
  • quartering act

    quartering act
    The Quartering Act of 1765 required the colonies to house British soldiers in barracks provided by the colonies.
  • Boston Massacre

    Boston Massacre
    The Boston Massacre, known as the Incident on King Street by the British, was an incident on March 5, 1770, in which British Army soldiers killed five civilian men and injured six others. A mob formed around a British sentry, who was subjected to verbal abuse and harassment.
  • boston tea party

    boston tea party
    The Boston Tea Party (initially referred to by John Adams as simply "the Destruction of the Tea in Boston" was a nonviolent political protest by the Sons of Liberty in Boston, on December 16, 1773. Disguised as Indians, the demonstrators destroyed the entire supply of tea sent by the East India Company in defiance of the American boycott of tea carrying a tax the Americans had not authorized.
  • Intolerable acts

    Intolerable acts
    The Intolerable Acts was the Patriot name for a series of punitive laws passed by the British Parliament in 1774 relating to Massachusetts after the Boston Tea party. The acts stripped Massachusetts of self-government and historic rights, triggering outrage and resistance in the Thirteen Colonies.
  • Continental congress

    Continental congress
    The Continental Congress was a convention of delegates called together from the Thirteen Colonies that became the governing body of the United States during the American Revolution. The Congress met from 1774 to 1789 in three incarnations. The first call for a convention was made over issues of the Intolerable Acts penalizing Massachusetts.
  • declaration of INDEPENDENCE!!!11

    declaration of INDEPENDENCE!!!11
    The Declaration of Independence is a statement adopted by the Continental Congress on July 4, 1776, which announced that the thirteen American colonies, then at war with Great Britain, regarded themselves as independent states, and no longer a part of the British Empire.
  • Battle of yorktown

    Battle of yorktown
    The Siege of Yorktown, Battle of Yorktown, German Battle or Surrender at Yorktown, the latter taking place on October 19, 1781, was a decisive victory by a combined force of American Continental Army troops led by General George Washington and French Army troops led by the Comte de Rochambeau over a British Army commanded by British lord and Lieutenant General Lord Cornwallis.
  • concord