India freedom fighters

Indian Independence movement (1857-1947)

  • Indian Rebellion of 1857

    Indian Rebellion of 1857
    This event was also called India's First War of Independence, the Great Rebellion, the Indian Mutiny, or the Sepoy Mutiny. It began on 10 May 1857, as a mutiny of sepoys of the British East India Company's army. Sepoys in the Presidency of Bengal revolted against their British officers.
  • The formation of the Indian National Congress

    The formation of the Indian National Congress
    From its foundation on 28 December 1885 by A.O.Hume until the time of independence of India on 15 August 1947, the Indian National Congress was considered to be the largest and most prominent Indian public organization, and central and defining influence of the Indian Independence Movement.
  • Partition of Bengal

    Partition of Bengal
    The decision to effect the Partition of Bengal was announced in July 1905 by the Viceroy of India, Lord Curzon. The partition took place on 16 October 1905 and separated the largely Muslim eastern areas from the largely Hindu western areas.
  • The formation of Muslim League

    The formation of Muslim League
    A political organization of India and Pakistan, founded 1906 as the All-India Muslim League by Aga Khan III. Its original purpose was to safeguard the political rights of Muslims in India.
  • The Advent of Mahatma Gandhi

    The Advent of Mahatma Gandhi
    Mahatma Gandhi returned from South Africa where he led Indians in a non-violent movement against racial discrimination. He emerged as an international leader, and is respected all over the world.
  • Lucknow Pact

    Lucknow Pact
    An agreement made by the Indian National Congress headed by Maratha leader Bal Gangadhar Tilak and the All-India Muslim League led by Muhammad Ali Jinnah; it was adopted by the Congress at its Lucknow session on December 29 and by the league on Dec. 31, 1916. The meeting at Lucknow marked the reunion of the moderate and radical wings of the Congress. The pact dealt both with the structure of the government of India and with the relation of the Hindu and Muslim communities.
  • Rowlatt Satyagraha

    Rowlatt Satyagraha
    In 1919 Gandhiji gave a call for a Satyagraha against the Rowlatt Act, passed by the British. The Act restricted the freedom of expression and strengthened police powers. Mahatma Gandhi, Mohammad Ali Jinnah and others strongly opposed this Act.
  • The Khilafat movement

    The Khilafat movement
    This was an agitation by Indian Muslims allied with Indian nationalism in the years following World War I. Its purpose was to pressure the British government to preserve the authority of the Ottoman Sultan as Caliph of Islam following the breakup of the Ottoman Empire at the end of the war.
  • Non-Cooperation Movement

    Non-Cooperation Movement
    Gandhi started the non-cooperation movement for removing British in January 1920 after the Jallianwala Bagh Massacre. It aimed to resist British rule in India through non-violent means.
  • Civil Disobedience

    Civil Disobedience
    Indian independence leader Mohandas Gandhi begins a defiant march to the sea in protest of the British monopoly on salt, his boldest act of civil disobedience yet against British rule in India.
    Civil disobedience refers to the active refusal to obey certain laws, demands, and commands of a government, or of an occupying international power.