Gun Control

  • National Firearms Act (NFA)

    the National Firearms Act (NFA) only covered two specific types of guns: machine guns and short-barrel firearms, including sawed-off shotguns. It did not attempt to ban either weapon, but merely to impose a tax on any transfers of such weapons
  • Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act

    The Omnibus Crime Bill also prohibited interstate trade in handguns, increased the minimum age to 21 for buying handguns.
  • Firearm Owners Protection Act (FOPA)

    Prohibits the sale, delivery, or transfer of a handgun from a licensed importer, manufacturer, or dealer to an unlicensed individual unless the documentation of the transaction is sent to local law enforcement officers and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
  • Undetectable Firearms Act

    makes it illegal to manufacture, import, sell, ship, deliver, possess, transfer, or receive any firearm that is not as detectable by walk-through metal detection
  • Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act

    Requiring Federal Firearms Licensees (FFL) to request background checks on prospective firearm transferees.
  • Federal Assault Weapons Ban expires

    10-year federal ban on assault weapons means firearms like AK-47s, Uzis and TEC-9s can now be legally bought on September 14, 2004
  • Gun-Free School Zones Act

    federal law that prohibits any person from knowingly possessing a firearm in a place the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is a school zone.
  • Protection of Lawful Commerce in Arms Act

    The purpose of the act is to prevent firearms manufacturers and dealers from being held liable for negligence when crimes have been committed with their products.
  • Federal Assault Weapons Ban

    Amends the federal criminal code to ban the import, sale, manufacture, transfer, or possession of a semiautomatic assault weapon