Poster 1

National Award - Winning Malayalam Movies

  • Neelakuyil

    Neelakuyil is a 1954 Malayalam film jointly directed by P. Bhaskaran and Ramu Kariat. It is a neo-realistic melodrama and was based on a story written by Uroob who co-wrote the screenplay and dialogues along with P. Bhaskaran. It stars Sathyan, Miss Kumari, Prema, P. Bhaskaran and Master Vipin.
  • Padatha Painkili

    Padatha Painkili
    Padatha Painkili is a 1957 Malayalam social drama film based on the novel of the same name by Muttathu Varkey and directed by P. Subramaniam from a screenplay by Varkey. The film is a social drama that revolves around marriage and dowry problems. It depicts the machinations of a wicked, though wealthy man, against a poverty-stricken, God-fearing schoolmaster, with the final defeat of evil in the end. It stars Prem Nazir, Miss Kumari, and Shanthi in the lead roles.
  • Mudiyanaya Puthran

    Mudiyanaya Puthran
    Mudiyanaya Puthran is a 1961 Indian Malayalam-language film, directed by Ramu Kariat. It stars Sathyan, Ambika Sukumaran, Kottayam Chellappan, P. J. Antony, J. A. R. Anand, Miss Kumari, Adoor Bhavani, Kedamangalam Ali, P. A. Thomas, Kambisseri Karunakaran, Thoppil Krishna Pillai and Adoor Bhasi.
  • Anweshichu Kandethiyilla

    Anweshichu Kandethiyilla
    Anweshichu Kandethiyilla (English: I Searched But Did Not Find) is a 1967 Indian Malayalam film, directed by P. Bhaskaran and produced by Raveendranathan Nair. The film stars Madhu, K. R. Vijaya, Sukumari and Kaviyoor Ponnamma in the lead roles. The film had musical score by M. S. Baburaj. The film recounts the quest for happiness by a nurse with the best of intentions, but who is disillusioned. It won the National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Malayalam.
  • Panitheeratha Veedu

    Panitheeratha Veedu
    Panitheeratha Veedu is a 1973 Indian Malayalam-language film, directed by K. S. Sethumadhavan. The film stars Prem Nazir, Nanditha Bose, Roja Ramani, and Jose Prakash. The film had musical scores and songs composed by M. S. Viswanathan. It is an adaptation of Parappurath's 1964 novel of the same name. It won the Kerala State Film Awards for Best Film, Best Direction, Best Story, and Best Singer (Jayachandran).
  • Kodiyettam

    Kodiyettam is a 1978 Indian Malayalam-language feature film written and directed by Adoor Gopalakrishnan. The film stars Bharat Gopy in the lead role. Notable smaller roles were played by K. P. A. C. Lalitha, Kuttyedathi Vilasini, Azeez, and Adoor Bhawani. The film depicts the life of Shankaran Kutty, a carefree simpleton who eventually rises to be a mature, responsible adult. The title of the film translates to 'Ascent' which symbolizes the growth of Shankaran Kutty.
  • Mukhamukham

    The film directed by Adoor Gopalakrishnan, starts in the early 1950s showing Sreedharan, the protagonist, as a very popular communist leader and trade union activist. He is forced to go underground after his name is associated with the murder of the owner of a tile factory. He is considered to be dead by his party and they even erect a memorial for him.
  • Sukrutham

    Sukrutham is a 1994 Malayalam-language film directed by Hari Kumar, and written by M. T. Vasudevan Nair. It stars Mammootty, Shanthi Krishna, Gouthami, and Manoj K. Jayan. The film is based on the subject of complex human relationships, inevitable human death, and the consequences to the relatives of the deceased. Bombay Ravi composed the songs while the background music was provided by Johnson. The film was critically acclaimed and won 2 national awards.
  • Thanmathra

    Thanmathra is a 2005 Indian Malayalam-language drama film written and directed by Blessy, based on Padmarajan's short story "Orma". It portrays the effects of Alzheimer's disease on the life of Ramesan Nair (Mohanlal) and his family.[3] The film collected three times its budget at the box office and completed a 150-day run.Thanmathra won five Kerala State Film Awards.
  • Indian Rupee

    Indian Rupee
    Indian Rupee is a 2011 Indian Malayalam satirical film written and directed by Ranjith Balakrishnan, and produced by August Cinema. The film stars Prithviraj Sukumaran, Thilakan, Tini Tom, and Jagathy Sreekumar in significant roles. The film was released on 26 October 2011 coinciding with Diwali and to a positive response from critics. It received numerous accolades including National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Malayalam and Kerala State Film Award for Best Film.
  • Sudani from Nigeria

    Sudani from Nigeria
    Sudani from Nigeria is a 2018 Indian Malayalam-language sports drama film written and directed by Zakariya Mohammed, with dialogues co-written by Muhsin Parari. Shyju Khalid was the cinematographer, who also produced the film with Sameer Thahir. It stars Soubin Shahir and Samuel Abiola Robinson. The story follows a Nigerian football player who joins a club in Malappuram, Kerala for a sevens football tournament