711873c6 2de3 4624 ae49 16d24fb24d75

American Revolution Timeline

  • Navigation Acts

    Navigation Acts
    The Acts of Navigation were a series of laws promoted and regulated English ships and trade with other countries and its own colonies. December 1 1660 to September 1661
  • French and Indian War

    French and Indian War
    War fought between France and Britain over control of the Upper Ohio River Valley. The British later won after the French signed the Treaty of Paris. Started in 1754 and ended in 1763
  • Stamp Act

    Stamp Act
    Act passed by British Parliament that forced tax on British colonies in America. This later led to the revolution and the “No taxation without representation” (repealed March 18 1766)
  • The Boston Massacre

    The Boston Massacre
    The Boston massacre was a confrontation in which a group of nine British soldiers shot five people in a crowd of four hundred. This occurrence caused an uprising in anti British Americans and helped fuel the revolution
  • Tea Act

    Tea Act
    The British Parliament passed the Tea Act in 1773 to help the British East India company. This Act allowed the company to ship tea directly to the colonies without having to pass through England. (repealed in 1861)
  • The Boston Tea Party

    The Boston Tea Party
    The Boston Tea Party was a revolt by the Sons of Liberty group in Boston. During the night many members of the Sons of Liberty disguised themselves and threw 342 chests of tea in the water. This enraged colonists however in the end did not cause too big of a riot as no other property was damaged.
  • The Coercive/Intolerable acts

    The Coercive/Intolerable acts
    A series of four laws passed by British Parliament to punish the Massachusetts Bay for the Boston Tea Party. This act was known as the intolerable act with American colonists as it imposed unwanted regulations on the Americans. This act fueled American revolts.
  • First Continental Congress

    First Continental Congress
    The First Continental Congress was a meeting of delegates from the thirteen colonies. 12 of the 13 showed up although Georgia could not as they were having problems with the Native Americans. The delegates discussed about how to respond to the Coercive Acts of 1773 of Britain. They ended up appealing to the King. (Disbanded on October 26 1774)
  • Lexington and Concord

    Lexington and Concord
    These battles were the first engagements of the American Revolutionary War. The battles were fought in the providence of Massachusetts Bay in Lexington and Concord. About 300 men were wounded or killed and this proved to the Americans that they hold their against one of the most powerful armies in the world.
  • Second Continental Congress

    Second Continental Congress
    About a month after Lexington and Concord, the delegates met a second time inside Independence Hall. They established a Continental Army and elected George Washington as their commander in chief. They also drafted the Olive Branch Petition which was refused by the King and announced them in the revolt. (Disbanded March 1 1781)
  • Declaration of Independence

    Declaration of Independence
    The Declaration of Independence is the pronouncement and founding document adopted by the Second Continental Congress. It was signed by 56 of Americas Founding Fathers and stated the independence of the United States of America.
  • Battle of Saratoga

    Battle of Saratoga
    American victory over British, ending Burgoyne’s attempt to control Hudson River. This battle later helped convince Louis XVI in becoming allied with the Americans. (Ended October 7 1777)
  • Winter at Valley Forge

    Winter at Valley Forge
    In the winter of 1777 George Washington led his army to the Valley Forge. One of eight winter encampments used by the Americans. When they marched into the Valley Forge they were cold, hungry and tired. They also had low morale after the disastrous Philadelphia Campaign. (Ended June 19 1778)
  • Battle of Yorktown

    Battle of Yorktown
    Battle won by the Americans leading to the surrender of the British at Yorktown. Lasted from September 28 1781 to October 19 1781
  • US Constitution

    US Constitution
    The supreme law of the United States of America. It comprised seven articles including the separation of power. This article still stands today and is used by the US. Created September 17 1787 and presented September 28 1787.