Banner americanhistory

American Cultures Final Project

By scsada
  • Abraham Lincoln

    Abraham Lincoln
    In office from 1861 to 1865. Lincoln wrote the Emancipation proclomation, freeing the slaves. Later on he stated the Gettyburgh Address in Gettysburgh, Pa. Vice Presidents included Hannibal Hamlin of Maine, and Andrew Johnson of Tennesee. Lincoln was assinated in 1865 by John Wilkes Booth.
  • Andrew Johnson

    Andrew Johnson
    Johnson became the president after Abraham Lincoln was assasinated. Johnson's reconstruction policies failed to promote the rights of the Freedmen, and he came under political attack from Republicans, ending in his impeachment by the U.S. House of Representatives. Johnson was acquitted by the U.S. Senate.
  • James A. Garfield

    James A. Garfield
    After completing twelve reconstructive acts with the House of Representatives, Garfield was elected. On July 2, 1881, Charles J. Guiteau, a mentally disturbed office seeker, shot President Garfield in the back. The president did not die until September 19th of blood poisoning. This happened after Garfield was only in office for a little over 6 months.
  • Ulysses S. Grant

    Ulysses S. Grant
    Ulysses was a Republican of Illinois that was a big part of the Civil War. Grant Served two terms in office. He was also the first president to have both his parents alive and well during his terms.
  • Benjamin Harrison

    Benjamin Harrison
    Benjamin Harrison was the grandson of William Henry harrison. Being a republican from Indiana Harrison won the 1889 election over Grover Cleveland. Harrison believed in Civil Reform and he pushed this during his term.
  • Grover Cleveland

    Grover Cleveland
    Grover Cleveland was a Democrat from New York. Cleveland was the only president that was president two terms separated by another president in between. He was president from 1885-89, then Benjamin Harrison was in office from 1889-93, then Grover Cleveland was president again 1893-97.
  • Theodore Roosevelt

    Theodore Roosevelt
    After becoming president in 1901 after McKinley was assasinated Roosevelt began focusing on the program of conservation of natural resources. He was also responsible for such progressive legislation as the Elkins Act of 1903, which outlawed freight rebates by railroad. Also, after 1915 Roosevelt strongly favored intervention in the European war.
  • Warren G. Harding

    Warren G. Harding
    Warren G. Harding won the Presidential election by a landslide of 60 percent of the popular vote in 1920. Once in office, Harding admitted to his close friends that the job was beyond him. Known as a "good fellow," Harding enjoyed being liked more than he prized being a good leader.
  • Woodrow Wilson

    Woodrow Wilson
    In 1912, Wilson won the nomination on the 46th ballot and went on to defeat Roosevelt and Taft in the election. Reelected in 1916 as a peace candidate, he tried to mediate between the warring nations. When the Germans resumed unrestricted submarine warfare in 1917, Wilson brought the United States into what he now believed was a war to make the world safe for democracy.
  • William Howard Taft

    William Howard Taft
    Though he carried on many of Roosevelt's policies, Taft got into increasing trouble with the progressive wing of the party.After his defeat in 1912, he became professor of constitutional law at Yale. In 1921 he was appointed chief justice of the United States Supreme Court.