Thelonious Monk

  • His Birth

    Thelonious Monk was born in North Carolina, USA in a town named Rocky Mount, on the tenth on October, 1917. He was born and lived all of his life in the Contemporary music period. At age four, he moved to Manhattan with his mother and two siblings.
  • First Recordings as Leader

    Thelonious makes his first recordings as a leader.
  • First Trio Session

    Thelonious records "Well, You Needn't" at his first trio session with bassist Gene Ramey and drummer Art Blakey.
  • "Criss Cross"

    Thelonious records his composition "Criss-Cross."
  • "The Way You Look Tonight"

    Thelonious Monk records "The Way You Look Tonight" with tenor saxophonist, Sonny Rollins.
  • First Solo Album

    Thelonious Monk records his frist solo album in Paris for Vogue.
  • "I Should Care"

    Thelonious records his compositions, "I Should Care."
  • "Epistrophy"

    Thelonious Monk records "Epistrophy" with a band that includes both Coleman Hawkins and John Coltrane.
  • "Live at the Five Spot"

    Thelonious records his compositon "Live at the Five Spot."
  • "Played Twice"

    Thelonious records his composition "Played Twice."
  • "San Francisco Holiday"

    Thelonious records his composition "San Francisco Holiday."
  • Last Studio Recording

    Thelonious makes his last studio recordings with bassist Al McKibbon and drummer Art Blakey.
  • His Death

    Physical illness, fatigue, and perhaps sheer creative exhaustion convinced Monk to give up playing altogether. On February 5, 1982, he suffered a stroke and never regained consciousness; twelve days later, on February 17th, he died at age 64.