The History of the Atomic Theory

  • Antoine Lavoisier

    Antoine Lavoisier established the law of conservation of matter which stated that matter, like energy, is neither created or destroyed in a chemical process.
  • Joseph Louis Proust

    Joseph Louis Proust established the law of constant compositon which stated that a given compound always contains the same elements in the same proportions by mass.
  • John Dalton

    John Dalton developed the first atomic theory.
  • Michael Faraday

    Michael Faraday was the first man to state that atoms contain particles that have an electrical charge.
  • Henri Becquerel

    Henri Becquerel discovered that Uranium exhibits radioactivity.
  • Joseph John Thomson

    Joseph John Thomson discovered the electron and the charge of an electron per unit of mass.
  • Marie Curie

    Marie Curie and her husband created a new element called Polonium. On December 28 of that same year her and her husband also announced the existence of a second element which they named Radium.
  • Earnest Rutherford

    Earnest Rutherford discovered the nucleus of an atom by accident while performing his "Gold Foil Experiment."
  • Robert Andrews Millikan

    Robert Andrewa Millikan discovered the charge and mass of an electron during his infamous "Oil Drop Experiment."