Scientists on the Atomic Theory

  • Period: to

    Atomic Theory

  • Isaac Newton

    Isaac Newton
    Stated his belief in the atomic nature of elements
  • John Dalton

    John Dalton
    proposed an atoomic theory with spherical solid atoms based upon measurable quantities of mass. He also developed the law of multiple proportions.
  • Amadeo Avogrado

    Amadeo Avogrado
    Stated that equal volumes of gases, under identical conditions, have the same number of molecules.
  • J.J Thomson

    J.J Thomson
    Discoved that cathode rays consist of electrons. He built a cathode ray tube to to test the rays in a magnetic field and an electric field.
  • Max Planck

    Suggests that radiation comes in discrete amounts.
  • Robert Millikan

    Robert Millikan
    He was the first to obtain an accurate measurement of an electron's charge. He did this by conducting the oil drop experiment
  • Neils Bohr

    Neils Bohr
    Constructs a theory of atomic structure bassed on atomic ideas.
  • Lord Rutherford

    Lord Rutherford
    Predicted the existence of the Neutron.
  • Arthur Compton

    Arthur Compton
    Confirms that protons are particles by discovering the quantum nature of x-rays.
  • Erwin Schroedinger

    Erwin Schroedinger
    developes wave mechanics. This describes the behavior of quantum systems for bosons.
  • Werner Heisenberg

    Werner Heisenberg
    Makes the uncertainty principle which is "The more you know about a particles energy, the less you know about the time of the energy, and vice versa. "
  • Walter Bothe

    Walter Bothe
    Found the first evidence of the neutron.
  • Paul Dirac

    Paul Dirac
    Discovers the antiparticle "positron". He says that they are exactly like electrons but positively charged.
  • Michael Faraday

    Michael Faraday
    Mike studied the effect of electricity on solutions and developed the laws of electrolysis
  • James Chadwick

    James Chadwick
    Found out that the neutron had no charge and had the same mass as the proton.