Lead 720 405

The Chronological Order of Brontë Sisters' Books

  • Jane Eyre (1846)

    Jane Eyre (1846)
    Jane Eyre, novel by Charlotte Brontë, first published in 1847. Widely considered a classic, it gave new truthfulness to the Victorian novel with its realistic portrayal of the inner life of a woman, noting her struggles with her natural desires and social condition.
  • Agnes Grey (1847)

    Agnes Grey (1847)
    Agnes Grey is the first novel written by Anne Brontë, who at the time wrote under the male pen name, Acton Bell. The story is closely based on Brontë’s own experiences working as a governess, and how it affected her life. Significant themes include issues of oppression, abuse of women, isolation, empathy, and the fair treatment of animals were applied. Agnes Grey is a coming of age story, somewhat following the style of the bildungsroman. The book has been favourably compared to Austen.
  • Wuthering Heights (1847)

    Wuthering Heights (1847)
    Wuthering Heights is an 1847 novel by Emily Brontë. The only novel she wrote, it was published in December 1847 and was met with negative feedback, due to its inappropriate and unpleasant content, as well as challenging against strict Victorian classes and ideals at the time. Brontë died just a year after publication, but years later, Wuthering Heights would be regarded as one of the greatest classic novels, and is even a fine example of Gothic literature.
  • The Tenant Of Wildfell Hall (1848)

    The Tenant Of Wildfell Hall (1848)
    Writing under the pseudonym Acton Bell, Anne Brontë published her last novel, The Tenant of Wildfell Hall. It tells the story of a woman who flees a disastrously abusive marriage and tries to become a working artist during a time when women were expected to accept whatever their husbands did without complaint. The novel was a critical success and told through the letters and diaries of several main characters, each embedded in the one that came before.
  • Shirley (1849)

    Shirley (1849)
    Shirley was the second published novel by Charlotte Brontë, published in 1849 under the pseudonym Currer Bell. Shirley: A Tale, as it was originally titled, is considered an example of the mid-19th century “social novel.” The social novels that emerged from that period were works of fiction dealing with themes like labor injustice, bias against women, and poverty.
  • Vilette (1853)

    Vilette (1853)
    With her final novel, Villette, Charlotte Brontë reached the height of her artistic power. Villette is Brontë's most accomplished and deeply felt work, eclipsing even Jane Eyre in critical acclaim. The autobiographical Lucy Snowe unexpectedly confronts her feelings of love and longing, struggling through recount the unstinting vision of a turbulent life's journey - a journey that is one of the most insightful fictional studies of a woman's consciousness in English literature.
  • The Professor (1857)

    The Professor (1857)
    The Professor is the last book of Charlotte Bronte yet it is also ironically her first novel which was consistently rejected by publishers during Bronte’s lifetime and even after her success and death.The Professor was based on Brontë’s experiences in Brussels as a pupil and teacher at Constantin Héger’s school for girls. In the novel William Crimsworth, who attempts to make his own way through the world with nothing but his mind and hands and with no other help other than deserved references.