Cassat reading to children

Assignment Seven-Group Seven

  • Period: to

    The development of children’s literature in the United States during the 1800’s-1900’s.

    During the 1800’s children’s literature was written mostly in novel form. The literature presented was typically that of stories in which were based along the lines of factual occurrences from that time period. The stories were given a since of realness and topics of fantasy and magic where very rarely touched on.
  • Little Women

    Little Women
    Traditionally children’s stories during the 1800’s were told in the form of novels, such as the novel entitled “Little Women” by Louisa May Alcott. The novel follows the lives of four sisters – Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy March – and is loosely based on the author's childhood experiences with her three sisters.
  • The Velveteen Rabbit

    The Velveteen Rabbit
    “The Velveteen Rabbit” by Margery Williams is one of the world’s most recognized children’s books. The book was published in 1922 and has been republished many times since, and in 1983 was awarded the IRA/CBC Children's Choice award. The story tells the tale of a young boy and his relationship with his favorite childhood toy, the velveteen rabbit. The story is a heartwarming tale and continues to be a favorite of many to this day.
  • Period: to

    Famous novels that appeared at this time

    During the 1900’s children’s literature touched on themes of fantasy and magic. Often stories where written in which depicted talking animals as main staples, i.e. The Velveteen Rabbit, and The Wonderful World of Oz.
  • Little House on the Prairie

    Little House on the Prairie
    "Little House on the Prairie" by Laura Ingalls Wilder, tells the story of the Ingalls family and of the months they spent on the prairie of Kansas. The stories of "Little House on the Prairie" fit the theme of pioneering which has become once again popular in recent years.
  • Dr. Seuss

    Dr. Seuss
    Theodor Seuss Geisel published 44 children's books in his life time, and was most active from 1950-1960. Most commonly known for his pen name Dr. Seuss, he wrote such famous children’s literature as Green Eggs and Ham, The Cat in the Hat, One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish, & How the Grinch Stole Christmas. Seuss’s imaginative stories embodied the very meaning of thinking outside the box, his creativity and unusual manner of writing is what allows his novels to remain best sellers to this day.
  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

    The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
    “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz” by Lyman Frank Baum has become an important staple of American pop culture in children’s literature since the 1900’s. During the 1900’s children’s literature revolved around themes of “life lesion”. The book in tails the story of a young girl named Dorothy who is swept up into the make-believe land of Oz, in which she learns valuable life lessons.
  • Junie B. Jones

    Junie B. Jones
    Following the works of Dr. Seuss, the popular children’s series Junie B. Jones incorporated humorous stories to capture children’s attention, motivating them to read. Barbara Park first began publishing her popular children’s novels in 1992. The series revolves around a young five year old named Junie B. Jones and her creative personality. Despite the books popular demand amongst youngsters, the children’s novels were banned at some schools for their lack of proper grammar.
  • Period: to

    Present day children’s literature in America

    Present day children’s literature in the United States still maintains themes of fantasy and magic as it once did but has also taken on themes of many “taboo” topics, such as homosexuality and same sex marriage.
  • And Tango Makes Three

    And Tango Makes Three
    In recent years children’s literature has approached subject matter that of a more “taboo” genre. In 2005 Peter Parnell and Justin Richardson co wrote the children’s book entitled And Tango Makes Three. The book is based on the true story of Roy and Silo, two male Chinstrap Penguins in New York's Central Park Zoo. The book follows the six years of their life where they formed a couple and were given an egg to raise.