Religion timeline

  • Fr Philip Conolly

    Fr Philip Conolly
    Philip Conolly (1786–1839), pioneer Catholic priest in Van Diemen's Land, arrived in Hobart in 1821. The first permanently appointed chaplain, he served bond and free alike. Perhaps his hardest role was to prepare convicted felons for death on the gallows.
  • Fr John Therry

    Fr John Therry
    John Joseph Therry (1790-1864), Catholic priest, the son of John Therry. Ordained priest in 1815, he was assigned to parochial work in Dublin and then Cork, where he became secretary to the bishop, Dr Murphy.
  • John Bede Polding

    John Bede Polding
    John Bede Polding, OSB was the first Roman Catholic Archbishop of Sydney, Australia.
  • First public Catholic mass

    First public Catholic mass
  • Fr James Dixon

    Fr James Dixon
  • Jeremiah O’Flynn

    Jeremiah O’Flynn
    James Dixon was an Irish Catholic priest who was transported to Australia and in 1803 became the first Catholic priest permitted to minister there.
  • The castle hill uprising

    The castle hill uprising
  • the Rum Rebellion

    the Rum Rebellion
  • the beginning of Catholic Education

    the beginning of Catholic Education
  • Establishment of the Catholic Church in Tasmania

    Establishment of the Catholic Church in Tasmania
  • Church Acts

    The Church Act of 1836 provided Government subsidies for clerical salaries and for new church construction
  • St John’s Tasmania

    It is the oldest surviving church in the South Island and one of the oldest in the country, in remarkably original condition, making it a well-preserved example of early New Zealand church design. These factors furnish St John's with considerable architectural and historical significance.
  • Sisters of Charity

  • Caroline Chisholm

    Caroline Chisholm
    Caroline Chisholm was an English humanitarian known mostly for her support of immigrant female and family welfare in Australia. She is commemorated on 16 May in the calendar of saints of the Church of England.
  • St John’s Pro Cathedral West Aust

    St John's Pro-Cathedral is located at 18 Victoria Avenue in Perth, Western Australia. It is the earliest Roman Catholic church building in Western Australia.
  • St Francis’ Church Victoria

    St Francis' Church is a Roman Catholic church, located on the corner of Lonsdale and Elizabeth streets, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. It is the oldest Catholic church in Victoria. The main body of the church is one of very few buildings in central Melbourne which was built before the Victorian gold rush of 1851.
  • St Patrick’s South Aust

    St Patrick's Church is a heritage-listed Roman Catholic church on Grote Street, Adelaide, South Australia. Opened in 1914, St Patrick's was built as a replacement for the original St. Patrick's church that was considered the first Catholic church in Adelaide.
  • Sisters of Mercy

  • Old St Stephen’s Church Queensland

    St Stephen's Chapel, also known as the Pugin Chapel, and formerly known as Old St Stephen's Church, is a heritage-listed Roman Catholic former church, now chapel, located at 249 Elizabeth Street, Brisbane City, City of Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
  • Gold Rushes

    Edward Hammond Hargraves is credited with finding the first payable goldfields at Ophir, near Bathurst, New South Wales, on 12 February 1851. News of gold spread quickly around the world and in 1852 alone, 370,000 immigrants arrived in Australia. By 1871, the national population had trebled to 1.7 million.
  • Eureka Stockade

    The Eureka Rebellion was a series of events involving gold miners who revolted against the British colonial government in Victoria, Australia during the Victorian gold rush.
  • Society of St Vincent de Paul

    The St Vincent de Paul Society is a lay Catholic organisation that aspires to live the gospel message by serving Christ in the poor with love, respect, justice, hope and joy, and by working to shape a more just and compassionate society.
  • Good Samaritan Sisters

    The Congregation of the Sisters of the Good Samaritan, colloquially known as the "Good Sams", is a Roman Catholic congregation of religious women commenced by Bede Polding, OSB, Australia’s first Catholic bishop, in Sydney in 1857. The congregation was the first religious congregation to be founded in Australia.
  • Elizabeth McQuion

  • St Mary’s Cathedral

    St Mary’s Cathedral
  • Mary Mackillop

  • Fr Julian Tenison Woods

  • Presentation Sisters

    The Presentation Sisters, officially the Sisters of the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary, are a religious institute of Roman Catholic women founded in Cork, Ireland, by the Venerable Honora "Nano" Nagle in 1775. The Sisters of the congregation use the postnominal initials PBVM.
  • Establishment of the Sisters of St Joseph

    Mary MacKillop and Fr Julian Tenison Woods open their first school in a stable in the South Australian town of Penola, on the feast of St Joseph, marking the beginning of the Sisters of Saint Joseph.
  • Christian Brothers

    Since the first Christian Brothers came to Sydney, Australia in 1843, their presence in Oceania has quickly spread throughout Australia, New Zealand and then later through Papua New Guinea, the Philippines and Timor Leste.
  • Kathleen Mary Egan

  • Edward Bede Clancy

  • Fr Frank Fletcher