States that Legalized Same-Sex Marriage and the Presidency they were Under

Timeline created by laylabozich
  • Massachusetts (under George W. Bush)

    Massachusetts (under George W. Bush)
    The Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court ruled that there is no rational basis under the law to deny same-sex couples the right to wed. In June 2007, the Massachusetts legislature voted 151-45 for the freedom to marry. In July 2008, the Massachusetts legislature and Governor Deval Patrick signed a law that allows same-sex couples from outisde the state to marry within the state.
  • Connecticut (under George W. Bush)

    Connecticut (under George W. Bush)
    Connecticut joined Massachusetts as the second state to welcome same-sex marriage. The case was brought by Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders. In April 2009, with bipartisan support, the legislature of Connecticut voted to realign state statutes to uphold the freedom to marry, and the Governor signed the bill into law.
  • Iowa (under Barack Obama)

    Iowa (under Barack Obama)
    Iowa was the third state to legalize same-sex marriage. In August 2007, the Iowa District Court ruled that it is unconstitutional to deny same-sex couples the right to marry. Oral arguments were heard before the Iowa Supreme Court in December 2008, and the freedom to marry was passed in April 2009.
  • Vermont (under Barack Obama)

    Vermont (under Barack Obama)
    The Vermont legislature passed a bill ending the exclusion of gay couples from marriage but Gov. Jim Douglas vetoed the bill. The bill went back to legislature, and with a new veto-proof 2/3 majority in each chamber, they successfully quashed the governor's veto.
  • New Hampshire (under Barack Obama)

    New Hampshire (under Barack Obama)
    Gov. John Lynch signed a freedom to marry bill into law after it was approved by the legislature. In October 2011, a bill that would repeal the freedom to marry passed the House Judiciary Committee. On March 21, 2012 the legislation was defeated by bypartisan vote.
  • District of Columbia (under Barack Obama)

    District of Columbia (under Barack Obama)
    Mayor Adrian Fenty signed a marriage bill that allowed same-sex couples to wed after it passed an overwhelming majority of City Council members twice.
  • New York (under Barack Obama)

    New York (under Barack Obama)
    The state legislature passed a marriage bill that was signed into law by Governor Andrew Cuomo. The State Senate passed the bill by a vote of 33-29 on June 24, 2011.
  • Washington (under Barack Obama)

    Washington (under Barack Obama)
    Gov. Christine Gregoire signed the freedom to marry bill into law. The law is expected to face a referendum in the November 2012 election.
  • Maine (under Barack Obama)

    Maine (under Barack Obama)
    Maine became the eigth jurisdiction in the United States to allow the freedom to marry after the majority of Mainers voted YES on Question 1 at the ballot on Election Day.
  • Maryland (under Barack Obama)

    Maryland (under Barack Obama)
    Maryland extended the freedom to marry to same-sex couples when a majority of Marylanders voted for Question 6 at the ballot on Election Day.