Nadine's Timeline

  • I was born!

    I was born 7 pounds and 3 ounces at St. Mary's in Livonia at 5:39am (my mom said she was the crankiest when I was born).
  • Cognitive: First Word (10 months)

    My first word was said at 10 months and it was baba which is dad in Arabic
  • Biosocial: Walking (13 months)

    I started to fully walk at 13 months
  • Psychosocial: Attachment (16 months)

    My mom told me I was very attached to her at about 16 months. Whenever she would drop me off at my grandmas when she had work I would not stop crying.
  • Biosocial: Left Handedness (3 years old)

    My parents realized that I was left handed. They would purposely put items in my right hand to try to conform me to right handedness, but I would always switch to my left hand. When I would play, I would pick up toys with my left hand.
  • Cognitive: Pre-school (4 years old)

    I started pre-school at 4 years old. I went to Marshall Elementary's pre-school program in Livonia. My teachers name was Ms. Sarah and I remember how I loved it so much.
  • Cognitive: Kindergarten (5 years old)

    I started Kindergarten at 5 years old. I continued at Marshall Elementary School in Livonia and my teacher's names were Ms. Waldron and Mrs. Hill.
  • Psychosocial: Little brother's birth (5 years old)

    My little brother was born on Novemeber 10, 2001 when I was 5 years old. I remember getting picked up from school and going to the hospital with my dad to see my new baby brother. I was the fourth person to hold him after the doctor, my mom, and my dad (of course I was seated and had some assistance from my dad).
  • Biosocial: Losing my first tooth (6 years old)

    I lost my first tooth when I was in first grade. I do not remember which one I lost first though. I also remember that my first grade classroom had a chart on the wall where one can stick a star next to their name every time they lose a tooth. I was crying when the first one came off, but the next day I was excited to put a star next to my name indicating a lost a tooth.
  • Cognitive: Arabic School (7 years old)

    I started going to a Saturday school that taught Arabic. The first Arabic school I went to was held in an actual home in Livonia. My older siblings and I attended the home run school, then later swtiched to a real Arabic school facility in Dearborn. I started learning how to read, write, and recite prayers from the Qur'an.
  • Psychosocial: Friendships (9 years old)

    I was in fourth grade when I become best friends with one of my peers. All previous years everyone in your class was your friend. For example, when there was a birthday party being held, everyone in your class is invited. At this age, I found someone to call my best-friend.
  • Biosocial: "Womanhood" (12 years old)

    Today was the day I marked my first days of "womanhood" by starting my mentrual cycle mid-year of seventh grade.
  • Psychosocial: Starting high school (14 years old)

    Went from Holmes Middle School to Stevenson High School in 2010. I went into ninth grade with many friends from previous years. I already knew a lot of my grade because almost everyone from my middle school continued onto the same high school. I remember walking in the halls the first day and thinking how much older the upperclassmen were, but in reality it was only a couple years.
  • Cognitive: Grades (16 years old)

    I was always did really well in school except for my first two years of high school. They were rough to say the least. I was not really engaged in my studies and slacked off a lot. It was not until I became a junior where I got my head on straight and started to focus on my studies and excel in my classes. Sometimes I wish I can go back and rewrite those first two years of highschool, but I believe I would not be the person I am now if it was not for them. You live and you learn, I guess.
  • Psychosocial: Graduating High School (17 years old)

    I officially survived all four years of high school! My first two years of highschool did not help my GPA, but I tried my junior and senior year to raise it as much as I could. I decided I wanted to attend Schoolcraft College, then later transfer to Madonna University. At this time I knew I wanted to do something in the medical field forsure.
  • Cognitive: First Semester of College (18 years old)

    My first semester of college was stressful, as I assumed it would be. I made the Dean's List with a 4.0 which I was extremely proud and humbled about. I really worked for it and it proved that high school days were over and it was a fresh start from the burden of my early high school days. It was a breath of fresh air after the first semester was over and I finally understood how things worked and what I wanted to persue - Nursing.
  • Cognitive: Classes all-year round (19 years old)

    As of the end of Summer 2015, I took classes all-year round since I started college Septemeber 2014. Went into Fall 2015 feeling worn out from classes all year. I honestly would not have had it any other way because I went into my second year of college basically a junior in college rather than a sophomore. Very proud and exhausted moment.
  • Biosocial: Stress (19 years old)

    The stress is real. In my first semester of my second year of college and the stress is at an optimum level with so much going on at once. In the winter of 2015-16, my plan is to transfer to Madonna Unversity to persue Nursing.
  • Biosocial: Having my first kid (26 years old)

    I hope to have my first kid at about 26 years old. I wish to have a stable career in Nursing, own my own house, and be married to a loyal man.
  • Cognitive: Successful Career (40 years old)

    About 20 years from now, I hope I can live up to being a great Nurse, mother, and wife. This will basically be mid-life and hopefully I do not experience a "midlife crisis."
  • Psychosocial: Successful Marriage (60 years old)

    I only wish to find a loysl snd loving husband, so this date will mark our 35th year anniversary of being married to that man (whoever he may be).
  • Cognitive: Retirement (70 years old)

    Most people these days are retiring at a later age to keep their mind and bodies going. I wish to retire at 70 years old. If I love what I do, I won't work a day in my life.
  • Biosocial: Health (75 years old)

    I wish to be a very healthy 75 year old, waking up each morning to exercise. Hoping to beat the odds of diseases that run in my family.
  • Psychosocial: Nana Nadine (82 years old)

    I hope to have many grandchildren to spoil, love, and cherish. I loved my grandma very much and she passed away at 82 years old. I wish to live longer than 82 years old and take advantage of every minute with my children, grandchildren, and maybe great-great grandchildren. I love my family and wish to have a large one, one day. (Nana is grandma in Arabic)
  • Epilogue: In God's Hands (88 years old)

    August 24, 1996 - Feburaury 3, 2084. By the end of my time I want to have lived a happy, beautiful, and blissful life full of memories and adventures. A lot of deaths in my family are sudden and quick. I wish to die quickly and peacefully in the presence of my home.