Martha_W_PSY315

  • 2.2 Genetic Limits

    6 weeks post conception, my mother underwent a procedure where the doctors entered the womb to surround my embryo cells in a nutrient solution to allow the embryo to enter a state of replicative senescence & to lengthen my telomeres. To support this procedure, leisure-time exercise has been incorporated into people's daily adult lives in various ways- shorter work days & week, with fitness classes & groups everywhere and free coaching programs. This procedure guarantees everyone'll reach 120+.
  • 6.3- Intimacy (example)

    I get married at 19. My sense of identity is beginning to fully form and I've made the decision to marry. I feel confident enough in my identity to know what I want (to raise children) and feel ready to allow my identity to fuse with someone for the rest of my life. This will provide a sense of security over loneliness & isolation as my identity reach its final form. I would go on to be married for 70 years before being widowed.
  • 7.2 Transitions

    It was around this time that I experienced a sequence of traumatic events that brought me to seek out therapy on my own, as a personal choice, for the first time in my life. After several weeks of therapy, I came to realize a truth, that I had the responsibility to heal from the trauma, and in turn reduced my alcohol use & changed my circle of friends. This kickstarted the shift from me being a conformist as a teenager to individualistic as a young adult.
  • 1.1 The Beginning

    Chronological Age: 19
    Normative Age-Graded Influence: moving off-campus to a house with roommates in college and signing a lease. This marked the start of adulthood for me by committing to paying rent for the first time.
  • 4.1 Young Adult Role Transition

    After a traumatic event and a relationship ending, I moved back home at 25 years old. This would be a normal event to experience during emerging adult years, according to the text 32% of emerging adults in the U.S. live with their parents. This was due to young people not being able to afford their own place to live due to low wages & long education processes, which also applied to me. I wasn't able to find a place that I could afford on my own so I moved back home to finish school.
  • 2.3- My current healthy lifestyle

    I currently live a moderately healthy life- I get my servings of fruit/vegetables daily and do partake in junk food on occasion (I try to resist food-shaming and aim for nourishment). I don't smoke tobacco and medicate with medical marijuana rather than pharmaceuticals. I exercise with bodyweight & yoga, but am quite aware that I do not do enough cardio, that is the area I would prioritize improving. As well as starting to wear sunscreen daily as I never do currently.
  • 4.3 Adult Attachment Style

    The quiz I took states that my attachment style falls into the secure region. This makes sense because for last few years I've been working on re-parenting myself while I heal from trauma- working at building a safe haven in my internal working system and to allow myself to grow out of being insecure & avoidant. I find myself being able to open up and care for my emotions, so that I don't rely on external sources for validation. I find myself worrying about rejection less and less these days. :)
  • 6.1 My RIASEC type

    My RIASEC type (in order) is conventional, social and artistic, which makes sense because my interests usually sway between research/data-entry/office careers and social work/therapeutic careers. Holland's description of conventional fits- I enjoy working with numbers/details and within structure. Also the social/artistic parts fits also in how i'm understanding, helpful & ethical. Suggested careers include Elem/MS teacher or training/development specialists. I'm still career-confused, TBH :(
  • 7.1 Fowler

    The Fowler stage of Individuative-Reflective Faith seems to be most fitting at this current time of my life- as I turn 29 years old in August, I find myself looking forward to maturing in age because I find it enjoyable. I find the deepening sense of security & self esteem quite liberating, the ways I define myself has shifted from identifying with groups towards identifying how i feel inside. I don't care as much about maintaining groups of friends, and care more about maintaining inner peace.
  • 2.1 Oxidative Damage

    At age 30, to prevent any possible oxidative damage, I will be placed into a plastic bubble suit where I breathe filtered air in order to prevent free radicals from entering my body. The food I eat for the rest of my life at this point will be customized to my DNA and grown in controlled radiation & pollution free spaces. This'll increase the feelings of loneliness from lack of human contact, this can be treated w/ interactions w/ other bubble-people or virtual reality.
  • 6.2 Super's Stages

    Within a year into starting my training/development job, I would be in the Super's stage of establishment where I'm finding my footing within the industry and the company I work for. After a year, I would be able to determine how much I enjoy the job and whether if I need a career change or continue into the Super's stage of maintenance where I would solidify my career track & pursue further training/certifications to better position myself for promotions.
  • 7.3 Major Life Event

    It has been 6 months since I've given birth and is coping w/ the life change after receiving therapy and going to support groups for first-time mothers. The mess was an issue and I would display problem-focused coping where I'd attend to cleaning every free moment I had instead of resting and being present with my body. Therapy and support groups helped me develop effective coping flexibility because I wasn't so isolated anymore and gained tools (asking for help & going for walks when stressed).
  • 4.2 Middle Adulthood Role Transition

    This would be around the time that I would need to evaluate my mother's needs and whether if I'm able to provide care for her personally. WIth witnessing the stress that comes with caregiving for our grandmother who has lived with us for my entire life and consideration for my own mental/emotional health, I do not want the same for myself. During this time, I would convene with my sisters & mother to look at our options in providing her additional support in her daily care & activities.
  • 2.4- Potential consequences of my lifestyle

    My current lifestyle does seem to present a lot of risk for cardiovascular disease and cancer due to family history, lack of cardio exercise, exposure to tobacco due to my family members' use & moderately unhealthy diet. My current fruit & vegetable intake *might* help prevent diabetes and Alzheimer's (no severe injuries to my brain). Above all, I recognize that there's a lot of risk for these diseases in my life if I do not make some changes in my exercise.
  • 6.4- Autonomous and Integrated Stages (example)

    After a long marriage, I am widowed and get emotional when I think about the losses of my loved ones. Although I love life at this age, seeing my grandchildren grow, it has been hard at the same time, dealing with grief and loss (complex feelings & gaining perspective on life). I worry about getting older (self-aware) and the burden it may have on my children, they all have their own lives and are busy chasing their goals (respect for the autonomy of others).
  • Divided Attention

    At around 70 years old, my capacity for divided attention may begin to decrease. Challenges in driving, multitasking while cooking/minding children & etc may come up. I could compensate for the decline by minimizing all the possible distractions such as turning off the music, asking my passenger to remain silent while in motion or choosing to only drive the routes I am familiar with. By doing this, I'd increase my capacity in reactivity & decision making while driving.
  • Declarative Memory

    Although I will begin to struggle with episodic memory at 60 years old in remembering events & details in my life, semantic memory seems to remain stable until age of 75. By then, I will begin to struggle with language (word-finding and name-retrieval failures), along with facts & concepts. If I wanted to write an autobiography at this point, I could compensate for these failures by hiring a ghostwriter to write out my stories and to read my journals to confirm details/events in my life.
  • 8.1 The End

    Dr. Martha Wolcott, 101, of Denver, Colorado died December 3, 2093 surrounded by family at her home in Aspen. Dr. Born August 8, 1992 in Englewood, Colorado to Jerry Wolcott and Damita Jo Damiano. After receiving her doctorate in Clinical Psychology at Gallaudet University, Dr. Wolcott started a private practice in Denver serving the Deaf community. She enjoyed trips to Aspen and teaching. She is survived by her sisters, Belva & Greta, two daughters, Calliope and Opal Wolcott, & 6 grandchildren.