Confederation Timeline

Timeline created by Fusion20
In History
  • Province of Canada

    Upper and Lower Canada unite. Upper and Lower Canada form into Canada West and East respectively. The province ceased to exist on July 1st, 1867, and divided into Onatrio and Quebec.
  • Reciprocity Treaty

    Canada and United States signed the treaty to remove customs tariffs on trade.
  • Grand Trunk Railway

    The Grand Trunk Railway is built between Toronto and Montreal.
  • Capital of Canada is Chosen

    Ottawa is chosen as the capital of Canada.
  • BNA Act is Signed

    The BNA Act is signed. Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia join to create Canada.
  • Assasination of Thomas D'Arcy McGee

    Only assasination in Canada on a federal scale.
  • NorthWest Territory and Rupert's Land is now Part of Canada

    NorthWest Territory and Rupert's Land joins Canada.
  • Manitoba Joins Confederation

    Manitoba joins Canada.
  • British Colombia Joins Confederation

    British Colombia joins Canada.
  • PEI Joins Confederation

    Prince Edward Island joins Canada.
  • Alberta and Saskatchewan is established

    Alberta and Saskatchewan is established
  • Newfoundland Joins Canada

    Newfoundland joins Canada.
  • Period: to

    Charlottetown and Quebec Conference

    The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences are held. The 72 Resolutions are made and drafted for the BNA Act.