A History of Children's Literature

Timeline created by tpte486summer12
  • "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" by Lewis Carroll

  • "Little Women" by Louisa May Alcott

  • "The House that Jack Built" by Randolph Caldecott

  • "The Tales of Uncle Remus" by Joel Chandler Harris

  • "The Tale of Peter Rabbit" by Beatrix Potter

  • "Peter Pan" by J.M. Barrie

  • "Anne of Green Gables" by L.M. Montgomery

  • The Little Golden Books are first published

    The Little Golden Books are first published
  • "The Velveteen Rabbit" by Margery Williams

  • First Newberry Medal awarded

    First Newberry Medal awarded
  • "Winnie the Pooh" by A.A. Milne

  • "Mary Poppins" by P.L. Travers

  • "The Hobbit" by J.R.R. Tolkien

  • First Caldecott Medal awarded

    First Caldecott Medal awarded
  • "Madeline" by Ludwig Bemelmans

  • "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe" by C.S. Lewis

  • "Charlotte's Web" by E.B. White

  • "The Cat in the Hat" by Dr. Seuss

  • "Snowy Day" by Ezra Jack Keats

  • "Where the Wild Things Are" by Maurice Sendak

  • "M.C. Higgins, the Great" by Virginia Hamilton

  • "Lincoln: A Photobiography" by Russell Freedman

  • "The Way Things Work" by David Macauley

  • "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" by J.K. Rowling

  • "Monster" by Walter Dean Myers

  • "Twilight" by Stephanie Meyer

  • "The Invention of Hugo Cabret" by Brian Selznick

  • "The Hunger Games" by Suzanne Collins