Frequently Asked Questions

General

What do I need to use Timetoast?

You need to have JavaScript enabled and Flash Player 9.0 or above installed. If your device or computer doesn't have Flash Player installed, or you choose not to use it, you can still access the timeline information in text format by clicking the "text view" link on the timeline page.

We try to support the two latest versions of the major browsers. These include Chrome, Internet Explorer, Firefox, Safari and Opera.

I've found a bug!

Please read the rest of the FAQ to make sure it is not covered before contacting us.

Feel free to make a bug report and we'll see if we can fix it for you.

Can I delete my account?

You can close your account at any time and doing so will remove all your data from the site. Note: Closing your account will also close any generated user accounts you may have created with a premium account.

Timelines

Can other people view my timelines?

Once you 'publish' your timeline to the web by changing the web visibility slider on the 'your timelines' page, your timeline will be listed on the site and anyone will be able to view it.

You can also choose to collaborate on a timeline with others, please see the collaboration section of the FAQ.

How do I embed a timeline on another page?

Your timeline has to have been published to be embedded by other people. You can change the web visibility slider of a timeline from the "my timelines" screen.

Once a timeline has been published, you will see the 'embed' button when viewing it. Copy and paste the embed code where you want to display your timeline.

Can I print a timeline?

Changing to the printer-friendly "text view" will allow you to print the timeline data. Unfortunately printing a timeline visualization is a lot trickier due to the amount of space required to display all the event data on a sheet of paper and is thus unsupported at the moment.

Can I create a timeline in the B.C. era?

Timetoast doesn't support B.C. era dates.

Can I create year-only events?

Timetoast doesn't currently support year-only dates for events, try adding a timespan instead.

I'm having trouble uploading photos, is there anything I can do?

It seems that some internet browsers have had trouble uploading images using the Flash-based timeline editor, sign in and try our simple upload page instead.

Generated users

How can I let my generated users activate their account?

Go to your users page and select the users you need to activate. Click the 'print activation links' button and you will be taken to a page that will let you print their account activation links.

Please note that this is a premium feature.

Your account

I'm having trouble signing in, what should I do?

First make sure that you have activated your account properly. You should have received a signup email when you registered. This email contains a link that you need to click to activate your account. If you can't find the email, try looking in your junk-mail box.

If you have already activated your account, you can also try the 'forgot password' functionality to reset your account password. Fill in the email you used to sign up and you will receive a password reset link

Plans & Billing

About our 30-day money back guarantee

Timetoast Premium Accounts include a 30-day money back guarantee for all new accounts. If you are dissatisfied with the premium account service for any reason, you can receive a full refund if you cancel your premium account or downgrade your premium account to a free account within 30 days.

Please contact us by email with the subject line: 'Refund Request' if you believe you are eligble for a refund.

What happens if I change my subscription to a plan with a different billing cycle?

If you switch to a new billing cycle, for instance monthly to yearly, your new billing period begins immediately and you will be charged for the first period, less the account balance.

If the account balance amount is larger than the amount due, you will not be charged anything, and the account balance is carried over to future billing periods, until it's spent down.

What happens if I change my subscription to a plan the same billing cycle?

We imediately create a new line item for the remaining portion of the current billing period at the new plan rate. At the next scheduled billing, you will be charged for the line item and the full charge for the upcoming period, less the account balance.

If the account balance amount is larger than the amount due, you will not be charged anything, and the account balance is carried over to future billing periods, until it's spent down.

What happens if I downgrade my account to the Free plan in the middle of my billing cycle?

If you downgrade your account in the middle of a billing cycle, you will immediately be downgraded and will forfeit the remaining duration of yor premium account. If you change your mind, and do not wish to forfeit the remaing duration of your premium account, please contact us to reactivate your subscription.

Please note that you may be eligble for a refund under our 30-day money back guarantee, please contact us by email with the subject line: 'Refund Request' if you are eligible for a refund.

Collaboration

How can I collaborate with other people?

First you will need to create a group or get invited to one, please note that this is premium feature. From the timeline edit page click the "collaborate" button and create a new viewer permission for the group from the sidebar.

If you would like the members of the group to be able to edit the timeline, you should give them the Editor role. If you would also like them to be allowed to delete the timeline, you can give them the Admin role.